mikegill Posted February 1, 2008 Author Report Share Posted February 1, 2008 We hold 25 HCP, opener should have 12+ HCP, so the 3♦ bid has 3- HCP. It should have been alerted. I also don't know what game you've been playing, but opener definitely had her bid and definitely didn't have 12 HCP. Actually the 3♦ bid was on a 4-count with 5-4 minors. Opener had AKQxxxx in diamonds and a J, and wasn't playing gambling 3n so opened 1♦. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hotShot Posted February 1, 2008 Report Share Posted February 1, 2008 Hi, I don't know what country you're from but in the ACBL at least preemptive jumps are not alertable after an overcall or X. Cool! I will try to remember that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jdonn Posted February 1, 2008 Report Share Posted February 1, 2008 This is clearly NOT a forcing pass auction, as far as I'm concerned.agree totally So one simply forcing pass rule: "We freely bid game and they defend" does not apply here because....? Because it's a bad rule and one that I never use? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TimG Posted February 1, 2008 Report Share Posted February 1, 2008 If 4♥ does not establish a forcing situation over the opponents' 5♦, then the 5♥ bid shows extras does it not? South might see a slam with this bit of information. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
skjaeran Posted February 1, 2008 Report Share Posted February 1, 2008 I'd never expect to be in a forcing position over 5♦. We just jumped to game, which doesn't promise power. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.