jillybean Posted October 4, 2007 Report Share Posted October 4, 2007 W N E SP 1nt 2♦* 2♥AP *2♦ not alerted After the auction East says that 2♦ should have been alerted. When asked,they say it shows ♠ + another. Now North is permitted to change her final pass. (Law21B1) If EW become defenders do lead penalties apply, under which law(s)? thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
matmat Posted October 4, 2007 Report Share Posted October 4, 2007 i really thought EW were not supposed to mention any missed alerts until after the hand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted October 4, 2007 Report Share Posted October 4, 2007 Did E say this to the table? In that case E made an infraction by telling her p that she has spades and not necesarilly diamonds. I suppose W (or E, if N becomes declarer) can lead whatever he wants but of course he must not take advantage of the UI. And E has the UI that his partner may have forgotten the convention so he may have a spade fit in spite of his pass. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jillybean Posted October 4, 2007 Author Report Share Posted October 4, 2007 yes, yes, yes East as defender, should not have spoken until after the play was completed but players dont always follow the rules, if they did we wouldnt need TD's :) We think lead penalties apply but we dont know which law allows for them here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterE Posted October 4, 2007 Report Share Posted October 4, 2007 There are no lead penalties at all, as there is no withdrawn call and Law 26 (which deals with lead penalties) starts with"When an offending player's call is withdrawn, and he chosses a different* final call for that turn, then if he becomes a defender [...]" It's "just" UI and MI and might lead to an adjusted score under Law 21 B3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted October 5, 2007 Report Share Posted October 5, 2007 Yes, there's definitely a serious UI problem. This is the reason why defenders are required to wait until the hand is over before correcting misinformation. While there are no specific lead penalties, I think it's pretty clear that the UI suggests a ♠ lead. If West leads a ♠ at some point before East has had a chance to signal, and he had other LAs, and this damages NS, an adjustment would probably be in order. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.