Jump to content

What's your call?


awm

What's your bid?  

32 members have voted

  1. 1. What's your bid?

    • Pass
      2
    • 3H
      21
    • 4H
      0
    • Would have bid 2H over 2C
      1
    • 2NT lebensohl
      8
    • 2NT two places to play
      0
    • 2NT natural
      0
    • Other
      0


Recommended Posts

Here's the story that goes with this hand:

 

When the hand was played, the double of 2 was alerted and explained as drury.

 

The player holding this hand bid hearts over 2, and the contract failed when partner held only doubleton heart and the suit broke badly. The double of 2 was in fact a normal negative double. The 2 contract would not have fared well (perhaps opener would not have rebid 2 if not for believing his partner's double was drury). The opponents did not have an agreement that double here was drury (i.e. there was misinformation, not a misbid).

 

Because there was not much time left in the round, the player holding this hand did not call the director when (after the play) the misinformation came to light. He attempted to call the director after the round. The director ruled (without looking at the hands) that this player had forfeited his rights by failing to call at the time of the infraction, and that therefore the table result would stand.

 

So a few questions for directors out there:

 

(1) Is it in fact the case that by waiting to call, this player has forfeited his rights? Or should a ruling have been made?

 

(2) Given the result of this poll (i.e. virtually all bid hearts even given the correct information) should the table result stand in any case (say the director had been called as soon as the MI came to light)?

 

(3) Is it reasonable to argue that while bidding hearts is normal given the misinformation and also normal given the correct information, passing the double would be logical if informed that opponents are not on the same wavelength and that therefore pass should be allowed, or is this just trying for a double shot?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

(1) Is it in fact the case that by waiting to call, this player has forfeited his rights? Or should a ruling have been made?

You know, it seems to me that I've been in many Sectionals, Regionals, even a National, where the Director said "You know, you should have called me at the time of the infraction. You should forfeit your rights for waiting so long"...and then ruled on it anyways.

 

Technically, they forfeited their rights. Most directors aren't hardasses about it.

 

I just don't see how the 3 bidder was damaged.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I wouldn't pass the second double even if I knew the opps had a misunderstanding, and I'd still pass the first double even if I knew for sure that the ridiculous "Drury" explanation was right and the doubler had his bid.

 

If partner can't act on his own again, then we shouldn't be in the auction.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...