mr1303 Posted September 3, 2007 Report Share Posted September 3, 2007 You hold: [hv=d=n&v=n&s=sk10xxhkxxxdaxcajx]133|100|Scoring: IMP[/hv] You open 1NT in 3rd seat, and the bidding proceeds: 1NT 2C 3C P? Playing on BBO, the 2C overcall was initially not alerted. You ask, and the explanation given is "nat". You bid 3H (in your agreements, 3C here is staymanic). After this, LHO corrects his explanation and puts majors in the description box. You don't have a director, so you can't call one. You request an undo and change your bid to 3NT. Anyway, dummy hits with: Q8xx109xxKQJxx 1) What is the correct initial action if there had been a director present.2) 3NT went down 3. 4H is likely to be down 1, as is 4S, but there is a chance of it making on certain lines of play. How do you rule? (The 2C overcall had a club suit, but the partnership agreement is that 2C shows both majors). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
skjaeran Posted September 3, 2007 Report Share Posted September 3, 2007 1. The correct action if a TD was present would be to call the TD at the time the explanation was corrected. The TD would then allow an opponent change a call based on misinformation provided that his partner hasn't subsequently called. Thus the TD would allow you to change your 3♥ bid, but not you partner to change his 3♣ bid. That's what happened at the table as you were allowed to undo your 3♥ bid and replace it with 3NT. 2. If there's no doubt that 2♣ by agreement shows both majors (by CC or system notes, preferably), the last explanation was correct. So you had the systemically correct information (which is what you're entitled to) when you bid 3NT. So I'd not adjust based on your situation. However, your partner didn't have the systemically correct explanation, rather the explanation that correlated with west's actual hand (no alert) when he bid 3♣. But I fail to see how you should survive this "psyche" now anyway. I'd rule "rub of the green", result stands. Note that west did act correctly when he explained 2♣ as both majors. That IS the systemic agreement, and that's the explanation you're entitled to. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr1303 Posted September 3, 2007 Author Report Share Posted September 3, 2007 A second question that I think warrants a mention: Is the fact that I bid 3H when 2C was natural AI or UI to partner? In other words, is he allowed to pull 3NT to 4H? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted September 3, 2007 Report Share Posted September 3, 2007 The fact that you have four hearts arises from your completely legal 3 ♥ bid. It is therefore AI to your partner. So yes, he's allowed to pull to 4 ♥. [Gerardo: Modified bridgetalk's :H: to BBO Forums [ HE ] (without the spaces)] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LH2650 Posted September 4, 2007 Report Share Posted September 4, 2007 Not seeing all the hands, or having all the system information, some assumptions need to be made. However, I would probably rule that North, with the correct information at his second turn, would double, East would have bid his better major, South would have doubled that, and it would become the final contract. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.