kfay Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 [hv=d=n&v=n&s=s987h98xdk9xxxc10x]133|100|Scoring: IMP[/hv] Playing against average opponents your dependable partner opens the bidding 1♥ and the auction proceeds: 1♥ - Pass - Pass - 1♠ Dbl - 2♠ - ? If you pass ..... then partner balances with 3♣, what now? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ArcLight Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 You passed initially, denying 6 support points.Pard doubled on his own, indicating shape and extras.I think his shape is 1=5=2=5 or better Too bad our long suit is ♦If I had the Club King insted of the diamond king I would be more excited.But we have 3 trumps and a doubleton ♣. Perhaps we can ruff a club Pard can make game with AKQxx in hearts, and AKxxx in Clubs provided hearts and Clubs split 3-2, which I would not bank on. If pard has a trump loser but has the Dimond ace we can also make game. But he might not. He might have the massive 2 suiter that doesn't open 2♣. But more likley he has a very good hand taht is not making 4♥ I will preference to 3 hearts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
markleon Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 I'm bidding 3♥ over 2♠. Got to get that primary support in now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
han Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 I think bidding over 2S is clear. You have 3-card support and (given that you passed originally) close to a maximum in support of hearts. Partner doubled knowing that you have a passed hand, he would like to hear from you. Passing over 2S and then bidding 3H over 3C shows a different hand, you would do that with a 0-count and 2 hearts. Don't put yourself in that position. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cherdano Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 Han told me about this hand, I claimed I would also pass the first round, but to be honest I am not sure, I might well have raised at the table. Given that I almost raised the first time, it seems right to bid 3♥ now. x AKQxx Axx KQxx might not act again over 2S. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Jlall Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 I don't think you should consider raising the first time, if you want to bid then it has to be 1N otherwise partner will never judge correctly. Anyways, I would bid over 2S, if I passed I would bid 3H over 3C. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kfay Posted August 20, 2007 Author Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 The actual hand looked like this: [hv=n=sxxhak10xxdaxcaqj8&w=saqjxxhqxdxxck9xx&e=skxxhjxxdqj10xcxxx&s=s987h98xdkxxxxc10x]399|300|[/hv] On the actual deal my partner passed over 2♠ and corrected 3♣ to 3♥. We really needed some IMPs badly (read: I know Bob Hamman says you should always play the same no matter what the deficit... but that didn't hold here :P ), so I raised to 4♥ and made an overtrick with some slight misdefense after LHO decided to lead the ♦Q. Win 12, but it still wasn't enough. If partner had bid 3♥ over 2♠ I certainly would have raised to 4 regardless of the situation (agree?). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
skjaeran Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 I'd bid 3♥ now, but I'd not been in this position with my regular partner. I'd have "raised" to 2♦ on the previous round - a 2-way bid in our methods; either a weak 3c raise (3-7 hcp) or natural 2/1. Sry, wasn't aware this was in the B/I forum. :P Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pclayton Posted August 20, 2007 Report Share Posted August 20, 2007 I would raise to 3♥ over 2♠. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neilkaz Posted August 22, 2007 Report Share Posted August 22, 2007 3♥ over 2♠ after PD's db; seems clear to me as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted August 23, 2007 Report Share Posted August 23, 2007 If partner had bid 3♥ over 2♠ I certainly would have raised to 4 regardless of the situation (agree?). Certainly, ♥xxxx offers chances of making 4♥ already. I would pass 2♠, and I'm afraid it has something to do with that law. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walddk Posted August 23, 2007 Report Share Posted August 23, 2007 I agree with the first pass, but if I pass again over 2♠, then give preference to 3♥ over partner's 3♣, I sound like ♠ xxx♥ xx♦ Qxxxxx♣ xx In context I have a much better hand, so I would volunteer with 3♥ over RHO's 2♠. Opener can't expect more than I have got after my initial pass. ♠ 987 ♥ 98x ♦ K9xxx ♣ 10x Take ♦K away and replace it with ♠K, and the hand is significantly worse. The king in their suit is likely useless whereas a king in an unbid suit rates to be worth something. Roland Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts