jillybean Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 No agreements, pickup parnter (4♦) X double is..... penalty , right? :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zasanya Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 Right but cud be wrong. :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Jlall Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 If your partner is an expert, 100 % no. If your partner is a beginner/intermediate then probably. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
effervesce Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 Depends on what level you and your partner have agreed to use takeout doubles to-but most experts play takeout doubles basically all the way up to at least 4S, and alot up to 7S. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 The rule I teach to beginners is that a double on a trump partscore is t/o. Of course there are excepttions but those are difficult to formalize and not so essential. Anyway, a double on a 4♦ opening is clearly t/o. When they reach the chapter about preempts the rule will be ammedend: a double on a preemptively bid trump game is generally t/o. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jillybean Posted March 30, 2007 Author Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 Here's the full hand, I was only a little uncomfortable bidding 4♥ and I'd be happy to hear 4♠. My ops were the only experts at the table. [hv=d=e&v=n&n=sa743hjt42d86c853&w=sj96hak876dckqj72&e=sqt85hdqjt7432c96&s=sk2hq953dak95cat4]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv] West North East South - - 4♦ Dbl Pass 4♥ Pass Pass Dbl Pass Pass Pass Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whereagles Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 sac pard 'nuff said :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winstonm Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 Jilly, a good rule of thumb to remember is that immediate doubles are for takeout, but the higher the bidding starts the more imperfect can be the hand - until you get to a 4S opening, and then double is mostly card-showing/penalty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cherdano Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 It hurts to do so, but South has to pass 4♦. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jillybean Posted March 30, 2007 Author Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 It hurts to do so, but South has to pass 4♦. Yes we need a signal to differentiate between penalty and take out here :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeh Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 It hurts to do so, but South has to pass 4♦. Yes we need a signal to differentiate between penalty and take out here :)A lot of bidding boxes in North America come with a TD card: now, some have claimed that this is to be waved in the air whenever one wants to call the Tournament Director, but I disagree. Firstly, we normally call the Director bvy speaking out loud, and few directors would ever see or respond to the waving of that little orange card if not accompanied by a yell of 'DIRECTOOOOORRRRR" More importantly, use of the TD card in the manner I suggest allows us to use the red X card for penalty and the TD card for Takeout Double. Unfortunately, BBO and other online sites have not catered to this agreement: there is no TD in the bidding box. Maybe Fred or Uday could remedy this? On a more serious note, JB, you did the right thing... partner had to pass 4♦, rather than double. Personally, I play doubles of opening preempts as takeout through 4♠, and I think this is the common expert approach, altho many bidding texts may still recommend the treatment I learned 30 years ago, of takeout through 4♥ and penalty of 4♠. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Jlall Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 You did very well not to run to 4S when Xed in 4H, I'm sure I would have. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
goobers Posted March 30, 2007 Report Share Posted March 30, 2007 lol @ mikeh's post Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts