Hanoi5 Posted February 10, 2007 Report Share Posted February 10, 2007 When using screens some laws change a bit and some are no longer necessary. What happens if a player bids and so does the next, and right before moving the tray the first player announces that he wants to change his bid? Should this be allowed? Why and why not? What can be done if the Director lets it slip and then the other pair complains? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted February 11, 2007 Report Share Posted February 11, 2007 Law 25 still applies - if the call was inadvertent, he can change it under Law 25A. If it wasn't inadvertant, he can't change it because his LHO has already called (Law 25B). Whether it was inadvertent is something the TD will have to decide, after investigation. If the director makes an incorrect ruling, Law 82C applies - which probably means adjusting the score, considering both sides as non-offending. If, OTOH, the ruling was correct, the other pair's complaint is probably irrelevant - although if the basis of their complaint is a disagreement with the TD's judgement, they are entitled to appeal. B) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted February 11, 2007 Report Share Posted February 11, 2007 When is a call considered to have been "made" when screens are in use? If we consider that a call isn't made until the tray is moved, then it could be changed under the rule for changing a call before LHO has called. I think the basis for Hanoi's question, and my suggestion that the interpretation of when a call is made, is that there's no possibility of UI from this interpretation. The only really confusing thing that arises from this is that one opponent (the screenmate of the call changer) knows that this happened, but his partner doesn't. This would make it tricky for him to take advantage of this AI. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hanoi5 Posted February 11, 2007 Author Report Share Posted February 11, 2007 The thing is that the person who wanted to change his bid had not made a 'mistake'. He just realized, after LHO action that his bid could end badly and so he preferred to change his bid. I think blackshoe had it right when he said the director has to decide whether it was inadvertent; and I think in this case it wasn't. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted February 12, 2007 Report Share Posted February 12, 2007 Given Hanoi5's explanation why the player wanted to change his bid, I agree with his conclusion. :( Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
inquiry Posted February 12, 2007 Report Share Posted February 12, 2007 Lets assume first player on one side of the screen bids 3♠ and the next player bids DBL (Penalty on given auction). Would you allow the 3♠ bidder to changes his bid before it is passed to the other side of the screen? Of course not. The laws remain teh same. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sancho Posted March 7, 2007 Report Share Posted March 7, 2007 Generally, if and how laws change when screens are in use is a matter of regulation. The WBF screen regulations (applicable for World championships) can be found in their "General Conditions of Contest": http://www.worldbridge.org/departments/rul...Contest2005.pdf Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.