ruotal Posted October 20, 2006 Report Share Posted October 20, 2006 1NT 2NT 3♣ 2NT was take out for minors and 3♣ intend to be lebensohl by opps. Is it alertable ? They said it is not because 3♣ was a cuebid of the minor showed bt 2NT. ruotal Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jikl Posted October 20, 2006 Report Share Posted October 20, 2006 It is alertable. Some NCBOs would say it is not as it is "self-alerting". However the fact is, some play this as ♥ with a club stopper, some play it as takeout of ♣. The fact is there is no GENERAL Lebensohl agreement for this, everyone modifies it as they see fit. Therefore, can it be misunderstood by the opponents. Yes. Does it show ♣? No. Where is the problem here? Sean Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
P_Marlowe Posted October 20, 2006 Report Share Posted October 20, 2006 <snip>They said it is not because 3♣ was a cuebid of the minor showed bt 2NT.<snip> Great, they say, it is arificial, now I would like to know, what it means. But even if they dont alert ths,... you can always ask.If they bid our suit,I would like to now,what it does mean, ... always. With kind regardsMarlowe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted October 20, 2006 Report Share Posted October 20, 2006 Alerting rules depend on where you play, so there's no general answer.But I wouldn't expect anyone to be damaged by a lack of alert, becausei) it's exceptionally unlikely that 3C is meant as naturalii) it's not at all obvious what 3C means Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr1303 Posted October 20, 2006 Report Share Posted October 20, 2006 if 2NT is known to be specifically the minors, then there shouldn't be any damage. However, lots of people play different varieties of 2 suited overcall in these positions, and if the 2NT was just alerted (but not enquired about) then there is scope for damage. It all depends..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted October 20, 2006 Report Share Posted October 20, 2006 I don't understand the auction. Is it1NT-(2NT)-3♣-? And how can 3♣ be lebensohl? Does that mean a weak take-out in either major? Always better to say what it means instead of naming a convention. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kenberg Posted October 23, 2006 Report Share Posted October 23, 2006 Does it matter? a. It's highly unlikely it suggests playing in clubs.b. Whether they alert or not, you will not know the meaning unless you ask. I can't see how an alert or the lack of an alert would affect your choice of action. If you have clubs, you can double. If you have diamonds, you can bid them. If you have neither you can pass and if this is followed by two more passes you can be amazed. If, on general principles, you want to know what 3C shows, you will have to ask unless they have a very detailed convention card. This is true whether or not they say alert. Of course it is reasonable to want to now whether or not it is alertable just for the sake of knowing. Reasonable but naive. The acbl has mad geniuses locked in dungeons constructing new interpretations of the rules governing alerts. It's unknowable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al_U_Card Posted October 24, 2006 Report Share Posted October 24, 2006 Does it matter? I can't see how an alert or the lack of an alert would affect your choice of action. If you have clubs, you can double. If you have diamonds, you can bid them. If you have neither you can pass and if this is followed by two more passes you can be amazed. If only for the "inferences" that can be drawn by knowing what it means. If you have no bid after 3C, then by all means don't ask. If they have no agreement then it will not be alerted. Having an agreement requires the alert which then automatically protects all players at the table. Equity rules, so to speak. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.