jocdelevat Posted July 24, 2006 Report Share Posted July 24, 2006 Hi all I played today in a tourney( rubber bridge) and was last hand. We lead and opponents needs game to make rubber and win. I was in first seat and with 5 clubs and 10 hcp I open 3c. Oponents didn't ask anything about my bid durring auction and they got to play in 4s. Declerer starts to play then td ( not from BBO) stops and asked me in private about my 3c bid which was not conform with what it suggested especially that require a seven card suit. I told her that the bid is a weak bid which 3c means but doesn't means I have to have 7 cards in the suit.TD stops the play and told me that my bid should be alerted and she will ask opponents if they wanna skip hand or play. I told her that if they suspect anything wrong on my bid should ask durring the auction and that she cannot let them know now. Td told opps my bid did not meet the requirements for 3c and asked opps to decide if we skip hand or pass but opps asked td if I have 6 clubs( my lho has 6 clubs) they will continue if not they need to skip hand. Td decide to skip hand then next hand we had good cards and won. Playing in this league partner should alert your bid is not like in bbo self alert.Questions:1. my p should alert my bid? ( we don't have any agreement, posted conv card before game was: 5cm cm w2's stay transf/majors bw str2c/steps)2. was my bid a psyche?3.what about td interference and decision. Thank you in advance for your commentsBest regardsJocdelevat Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jillybean Posted July 24, 2006 Report Share Posted July 24, 2006 1. If you preempt with this shape more than once or twice it should be alerted2. No3. Outrageous, what sort of tournament was this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1eyedjack Posted July 24, 2006 Report Share Posted July 24, 2006 Agree with jillybean2. A few additional comments: A ) Whether a bid requires an alert depends on the regulations of the sponsoring organisations. Whatever the regulations it will depend on the partnership expectation of your hand, not the actual cards held. Under most jurisdictions a 3 level preempt on a 5 card suit should be alerted if partner can reasonably expect that possibility. B ) A Psyche is a "gross distortion" of distribution or strength. This rates as neither. Distortion, perhaps. Gross, no. C ) "I told her that if they suspect anything wrong on my bid should ask durring the auction" - This is not correct, I think. If they suspect an infringement then certainly they should call for TD as soon as it becomes apparent, which may indeed be during the auction. However, an infraction may not become apparent to them until after the auction (or even play of the hand) is complete and yet they would still at that time be able to ask for redress. Furthermore, I don't think that there is anything in the rules requiring that a player at a table call the TD for intervention in order for the TD to be authorised to take action in the event of a perceived infringement. If the TD becomes aware of an infringement he can act however he may come by that information. I am NOT saying that there was an infringement, only that in principle, if there HAD been an infringement, the TD could act without prompting (I am not qualified to say whether the action taken in this case would have been appropriate in the event of an infringement, but I am surprised that he did not let the play conclude before considering action). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 24, 2006 Report Share Posted July 24, 2006 I agree with what has been stated so far. The TD was really out of line in informing the opponents of what was going on during the play of the hand. Even if there has been an infringement, no penalty or adjustment should take place if the opponents are actually damaged by the infringement. And there's no way to determine that until the hand has been played. The only time you throw out a board is when an irregularity makes it impossible to play the hand normally (e.g. one of the players accidentally sees another hand, or overhears discussion of the hand from another table, and no substitute can be found). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jtfanclub Posted July 25, 2006 Report Share Posted July 25, 2006 Now I'll have to think about it, my answer before I read the replies was: 1. No, of course not. 2. Yes, assuming this was a balanced hand. Bidding 3C with 6322 is an exaggeration. With 5422, I would think that's a gross exaggeration. 5422 is closer to 4432 than 7321. 3. No, psyches are completely legal. TD had no business doing anything, unless your partner 'fielded' the psyche. I suppose if you were plying in a 'no psyches tournament', it could be an issue. But Jillybean knows a lot more about this stuff than I do. B) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts