Jump to content

2 rulings


Recommended Posts

1.

 

[hv=d=s&v=a&n=s3hak982djt43cq52&w=s942hqt6543d75c83&e=skqj8765hd9ca9764&s=sathj7dakq862ckjt]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv]

 

West North East South

 

 -     -     -     1

 Pass  1    4    Dbl

 Pass  Pass  Pass  

 

DA D5 D3 D9

DK D7 D4 S5

CA CT C3 C2

C4 CJ C8 C5

HJ H3* H2 S6

C6 CK S2 CQ

H4 H8 S7 H7

C7 ST H5 DT

DQ S9 DJ C9

S4 S3 SK SA

D8 H6 H9 S8

SJ D2 HT HK

SQ D6 HQ HA

 

*declarer reddotted and required substitution. Here's the position at the end of trick 5 with declarer (East) on lead.

 

[hv=d=s&v=a&n=s3hak982djt43cq52&w=s942hqt6543d75c83&e=skqj8765hd9ca9764&s=sathj7dakq862ckjt]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv]

 

Went down 1 but 4 makes here if you ruff a club and draw trumps. Substitute might have guessed this but is at a disadvantage not knowing what had been played earlier. Do you adjust?

 

 

2.

 

[hv=d=s&v=a&n=s3hak982djt43cq52&w=s942hqt6543d75c83&e=skqj8765hd9ca9764&s=sathj7dakq862ckjt]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv]

 

West North East South

 

 1    Dbl   Pass  4

 Pass  Pass  Pass  

 

S3 S2 S9 SK

HA H8 H2 H3

HQ D2 H5 H6

HJ D5 HT H9

C7 C3 CT CJ*

 

*ran out of time

 

Again, here's the position at the end of trick 5, with east on lead:

 

[hv=d=s&v=a&n=s3hak982djt43cq52&w=s942hqt6543d75c83&e=skqj8765hd9ca9764&s=sathj7dakq862ckjt]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv]

 

 

Can you make a reasonable adjustment?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hand 1.

Maybe I've misunderstood, but it reads as if a substitute had to come in as declarer at trick 5, then play the rest of the hand without knowing what had happened on the first four tricks?

 

That may be a mildly interesting card game, but it sure ain't bridge.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1. I would have adjusted to 4S= even before I sub, this way saving time for the subsequent boards.

 

2. I would ask both sides who was responsible for the delay. If I come to the conclusion that one pair is responsible I would adjust in favor of the other pair. If I cannot find out, I probably adjust to 4!H-1, because I think it is more likely that the contract will not make after this start.

 

Karl

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hand 2: I would expect declarer usually to go off from this point when East switches to a diamond. But it has to be the Jack of diamonds, I think, so who can say what would have happened at the table?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...