tkass Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 [hv=n=sqxxhj10xxxdxxxcxx&w=sxxhkxxdkqxxckjxx&e=sakjxxhqdj103cqxxx&s=sxxxha932daxxcaxx]399|300|[/hv] we were silentopps bidding: p-1sp-1nt-2cl-3nt pard lead the he jack, i play the ace and lead the 2 of heart what is the common expert meaning of the he 2: we play udca attitude : i welcome a heart return my opinion or some kind of count: pard say residual count for he showing 1 or 3 hearts remaining Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whereagles Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 Depends on which book you red :lol: One of the most common meanings is that the 2 is the card that was originally 4th best. As in "win + return original 4th best". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pclayton Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 Its original 4th best. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricK Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 It is ususally played as count. But shouldn't you be returning the 9 anyway? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulg Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 I play the ♥2 is original 4th best. This means that North should realise that South has either 2 or 4 hearts. As West is unlikely to have 5 hearts on this auction I think the situation is relatively clear. Paul Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
temp3600 Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 I think it is standard to play this as residual count, when there are no concerns about unblocking. Note that original 4th best matches residual count when third hand started with four or five cards. Also, i don't think udca or standard considerations apply when leading to a trick. I would return the 2 playing either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mcphee Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 Remainder count card is generally the universal understanding in this position. As stated, the 2 means you have either 2H to start or 4. It is evident you began with 4, although perhaps not 100% a sure thing. Perhaps your partner should have led 4th best to start, although you have not included the other spot cards. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winstonm Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 I have a couple of simple rules to handle this situation: 1) if I am returning my partner's suit, I play the card that I would lead from my current holding. In other words, after the ace has been played, what would I lead to give count from 932 and my answer is the 2. 2) if discarding later from this suit, I give count according to our agreements - UDCA I would discard the 9 to show 3 left. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bid_em_up Posted July 1, 2006 Report Share Posted July 1, 2006 It is ususally played as count. But shouldn't you be returning the 9 anyway? Yes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.