sceptic Posted June 17, 2006 Report Share Posted June 17, 2006 [hv=d=e&v=a&n=sa83h6daj972ck954&w=sk74hkt9dt86caq62&e=sj52hj7542dkq4c73&s=sqt96haq83d53cjt8]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv] West North East South - - Pass Pass 1♣ 1♦ 1♥ 1NT 2♥ Pass Pass Pass how does South make a penalty x over 2 hearts ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hotShot Posted June 17, 2006 Report Share Posted June 17, 2006 dbl now should be penalty.With your 1NT bid you described your hand. You denied a 5(4] card ♠, 3card support in ♦ and you should have stopper in ♥ and perhaps ♣ (since 1♣ does not promise a long suit). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
toothbrush Posted June 18, 2006 Report Share Posted June 18, 2006 This is an interesting situation:Dbl by south would be penalty now, no doubt.A dbl by north would be takeout, sitting before the ♥-bidder. North can't have a penalty dbl because South has a stopper and opps a fit! In this situation I believe North has a better takeout double than south having a penalty double. South is unable to dbl because he does not know how strong his partner is. However I don't think this contract should be doubled, playing IMPs. At matchpoints, I think North should dbl (takeout) and South passes it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Double ! Posted June 18, 2006 Report Share Posted June 18, 2006 One makes a penalty double of 2 Hearts by placing the red card on the table or hitting the double tab on your screen. you made a limited, relatively descriptive bid that included a reasonable holding in hearts when you bid 1NT. A double at this point, by the limited hand (that didn't snapdragon X or bid 1S over 1H) should show "hey, I have better hearts than i showed, methinks the opps be in trouble, let's defend and see". :) Just make sure that your P doesn't overcall on junk....."Nobody knows the overcalls I've seen. Nobody knows but.............." DHL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
P_Marlowe Posted June 18, 2006 Report Share Posted June 18, 2006 X is penalty, you promised heart valueswith 1NT, now you say, that they crossed a line, altough I amnot sure I ever would, ... only if 1D promises the strength for an opening bid, what I doubt. With kind regardsMarlowe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted June 19, 2006 Report Share Posted June 19, 2006 One of our doubling rules is "When we have bid NT showing values in a particular suit, then double of that suit is penalties. Unless another "penalty" rule applies, double of that suit from partner is still take-out, but should not be a void and should be prepared for a frequent pass." So double is penalties. (Now you can start worrying about auctions such as 1S 1NT 2S P P x which we have agreed as take-out by special dispensation....) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts