Jump to content

Rule on this


Recommended Posts

[hv=d=e&v=n&n=sk5h65dajt62ckqj5&w=s83hkqj74d9873c98&e=sj9742h98dqcat742&s=saqt6hat32dk54c63]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv]

 

Pass-1-1-2

2-Pass-Pass-3

Pass-Pass-X-All Pass

 

2nd board of 20.

 

Dummy hits and the button gets pressed. West claims that the 2 should be alerted as inverted minor, in which case they would not double.

 

North denies any agreement to play inverted minors (a statement which would appear to be colluded by the subsequent auction, and in any case I understand that most do not play inverted in competitive auctions), and states that this is the first time they have played with this partner (this seems to be confirmed by myhands).

 

As TD, what's your call?

 

edited to correct bidding

Edited by Mr. Dodgy
Link to comment
Share on other sites

yeah that's what I thought. West was NOT pleased, and abandoned.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi all

 

WEST in this hand should abandon Bridge and play Flipper or ............. :)

 

Partner passed in 1. seat, opponents bid and raised and reraised diamonds. He has no sure trump-trick and perhaps 1-2-tricks. Partner must contribute 3 tricks to beat 3.

 

The double is the silliest double I've seen in my 40 years bridge career.

 

Sure let the result stand and report to abuse, if he leaves after your decision.

 

Cheers

 

Al

 

 

Btw. the 2 is a terrible bid and what North is doing nobody knows, even playing inverted minors 3 is a great underbid. Maybe he knew what bad player WEST is and provoked the X :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In order to adjust a score, the TD must decide that there has been damage caused by the (possible) misinformation.

 

1. There has been no misinformation.

2. Even if there had been, EW have not been damaged.

 

The EW auction beggars belief, and the poor result was self-inflicted. Conclusion: table result stands. West was not pleased with the ruling, it appears, and subsequently left the table.

 

Clear violation of Rules of this Site and a report should be sent to abuse@, and in this context it doesn't matter if the ruling was correct or not. There is no excuse for leaving a table even if you don't agree with the TD's decision.

 

As an aside, let me give you an example from a recent incident in the Danish Women's Handball League. The coach of the visiting team was unhappy with the referees and at some point asked her players to leave the arena. They did come back after a while, however.

 

The coach has now been banned for 6 months domestically, and 3 months internationally (by the International Handball Federation). Harsh punishment, you may argue. I don't think so.

 

Roland

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...