Jump to content

How do you rule?


Recommended Posts

[hv=d=s&v=b&n=sjxxhjxdkxxcakxxx&w=saqxxhxxxxdqxxcqx&e=sxxxxhaxxxdjcjxxx&s=skxhkqxdaxxxxxcxx]399|300|Scoring: MP[/hv]

Team(live bridge)

The bidding:1D- 2Cl

2NT-3NT

 

 

Lead:small H(2nd/4th)

 

 

The play:E played A and heart back to South's K;S follows diamond to the K and diamond back to West's Q;West play A and heart back;South put the K and,after a moment,said:"Oh,I have hearts..." and take back the K,putting the Q...

The TD was called and he decides 3NT-1 for EW

 

Please comment and advice:

1. Is this a right decision?

2.Accordig to which rule a decision could be taken in such a case?

 

Tkanks for your time

 

 

Michael

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am bit slow sometimes, the situation was:

[hv=n=sjxhdxcakxxx&s=skhqdaxxxcxx]133|200|[/hv]

 

E on lead and leads small , from dummy some discard and W small and south put K and after a while he changed it to Q?

 

If so there is no problem: It is revoke by south but an unfinnished. This is solved by penalty card. South as declarer can not have penalty cards. Nothing happens.

 

(Hope you get it, I don't know the proper english terminology (can anybody write it, tx)))

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Declarer may show opponents his cards with impunity.

 

The laws state that for a revoke to be established, "the offended o rhis partner leads or plays to the following trick (any such play, legal or illegal, establishes the revoke)"

 

Law 63 also says that this includes naming or otherwise designating a card to be played. i.e. calling for a card from dummy.

 

Since this hasn't happened, the revoke isn't established, so declarer may replace his card without penalty, and play on.

 

No penalty. So another poor director ruling I'm afraid.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The revoke is not established until a card has been played to the following trick. Declarer can take his card back and replace it with any heart. K does not become a penalty card, because declarer can't get penalty cards. Only the defenders can.

 

The TD's ruling is illegal. Sadly, illegal rulings happen frequently, also at top level. The latest example was during the Canadian National Team Championship Final when the TD decided to throw a board out after misinformation. By doing so he violated Law 12C.

 

Roland

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...