jillybean Posted November 23, 2005 Report Share Posted November 23, 2005 [hv=d=e&v=b&n=sqxhdqxcqx&w=skhakj9xdc&e=sh10xxxdcxx&s=shqxxdxxxc]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv] E/W were in 3♥X Trick7, lead was from East and before playing ♥'s declarer claimed all remaining tricks for -2 , claim was rejected. Declarer played ♥10 to ♥J, claiming all remaining tricks. Opps called me and cried foul, I adjusted the board to –3. (after checking with a real expert B) ) jb Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
inquiry Posted November 23, 2005 Report Share Posted November 23, 2005 I think enough information is not given to tell if WEST has reasons to know or strongly suspect North has no hearts. Did you inquire as to why no play line was stated (if taking the hook, since dummy is entryless, that should have been stated with the claim). On the actual hand, north had shown up with 5spades, known short hearts (true could be one) and what appears to be four clubs and four diamonds. The reason, west ruffed second round of spades (sure spade count), and they very nicely gave sure count in clubs. Even the diamond count given was accurate. Further it was south who ruffed the spade and made the penalty double. I doubt he would have doubled with xxx of hearts at imps. So at least Qxx (initally) or more likley Qxxx seems clear. However, I have to admit even if WEST had stated such a reason after the fact, I would have ruled down three. It is easy enough to state the line, or take the hook then claim if that was his intent. But sometimes the bridge logic is 100% and the fellow might be able to rattle it off with certainty. Still, anyone who can read end positions well enough should know the rules for claims. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
han Posted November 23, 2005 Report Share Posted November 23, 2005 You clearly made the correct ruling Kathryn. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al_U_Card Posted November 23, 2005 Report Share Posted November 23, 2005 Reward the good, punish the bad (even if their intent was not to be bad) that is how children learn....the difference between right and wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walddk Posted November 23, 2005 Report Share Posted November 23, 2005 You clearly made the correct ruling Kathryn. Indeed. A declarer who can't state a line of play is also likely to have forgotten that the opponents have 3 trumps, and under no circumstances, given the info we have here, will she be allowed to take a finesse. I may even consider giving NS two tricks! If declarer thinks all her cards are high, she may as well play her ♥x or ♠K at some point and let South win his queen as well as one of the other two trumps. Roland Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pigpenz Posted November 29, 2005 Report Share Posted November 29, 2005 yes i think i had posted this earlier, its law 69 i believe....delcarer restates his line of play....if there are outstanding trumps he cant how say he will play trump unless stated in his original claim, and cant take any finesses unless someone had previously showed out in that suit. The rules favor the defenders in these cases and the laws clearly state that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricK Posted November 29, 2005 Report Share Posted November 29, 2005 I think it is clear that declarer is not allowed to finesse. Call me a cynic, but I also think it is clear that he was trying to "pull a fast one". Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.