guggie Posted November 21, 2005 Report Share Posted November 21, 2005 I played in a BBOItalia tournament. My RHO had opened 1♣ without alert. I played him for having at least 3 clubs and went 2 off in stead of one. I asked the TD about the non alert and he said that 1♣ opening with doubleton is standard BBO and needs no alert. In Holland we have to alert 1♣, if doubleton possible, and I alert it always on BBO myself. Just out of curiosity, what is your opinion? Should one alert a 1♣opening, if it can be a doubleton clubs? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr. Dodgy Posted November 21, 2005 Report Share Posted November 21, 2005 Alert Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
david_c Posted November 21, 2005 Report Share Posted November 21, 2005 From looking at convention cards on BBO, it seems that most Italians play that 1♣ can be a doubleton. So if you're playing in a BBOItalia tournament you should probably be expecting this, whether it's alerted or not. In this sense the TD is correct. Elsewhere on BBO it probably ought to be alerted, but not everyone will do this so you shouldn't rely on it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pigpenz Posted November 21, 2005 Report Share Posted November 21, 2005 In ACBL land its alertable, but then I just found out that negative doubles aernt alertable according to ACBL_XX TD...so who knows for sure :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
han Posted November 21, 2005 Report Share Posted November 21, 2005 Negative doubles are not alertable for ACBL tournaments. Short club is announcable in f2f tournaments, and thus alertable in online tournaments. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Echognome Posted November 22, 2005 Report Share Posted November 22, 2005 Negative doubles are not alertable for ACBL tournaments. Short club is announcable in f2f tournaments, and thus alertable in online tournaments. Alerting rules are covered by zonal organisations. Since it is not clear who the sponsoring organisation is (BBO Italia if any), it is NOT CLEAR whether this should be alerted. It's an impossible question and one that can only be resolved by an announcement or description when the tournament begins that "ACBL Rules apply" or "BBO Italia Rules apply". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.