david_c Posted October 21, 2005 Report Share Posted October 21, 2005 [hv=d=w&v=b&n=sq2ha5dqj76ck6543&w=st653hqt862dakc98&e=s984hkjdt8432cat7&s=sakj7h9743d95cqj2]399|300|Scoring: MP[/hv]West opens 2♦, not alerted. North passes, and East bids 2NT (natural, apparently), which is passed out. South leads ♥9, so 2NT goes one down. N/S call the director to point out the strange 2♦ bid. West says that it shows 9-11 points with 5♥s and 4♠s, but admits that he didn't alert it properly. How do you rule? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
candybar Posted October 21, 2005 Report Share Posted October 21, 2005 Ruling: Failure to alert.Result: Warning to alert the bid in the future, plus adjustment.Adjustment: Adjustment requires 2 things -- Misinformation and Damage. Misinformation is established by the admission of failure to alert. Had 2D been alerted, it's likely that North would take some action. Damage is established by estimating North's action and the most likely contract, in this case I would say 3N. Then decide what 3N makes, in this case because the hearts block and the AC is East, I'd say 3N makes 3 on anything except perfect defense. Theoretically, EW could get 4 hearts, 1 club, and 2 diamonds, but if West's bid meant the majors, East could also guess to lead a spade after winning the AC, so I'm resolving this in favor of the non-offending side. Misinformation is clear. Damage is clear. Adjust to 3N N/S making 3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Jlall Posted October 21, 2005 Report Share Posted October 21, 2005 Failure to alert. I would make them play 2N on this auction, except on a club lead (south wouldn't lead a major if he knew dummy had majors). EW would get 4 tricks for down 4. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pigpenz Posted October 22, 2005 Report Share Posted October 22, 2005 i would ask what their understand is of the 2NT bid also, usually it is forcing!Ask west how they interpeted the 2♦ call and all that stuff, all roads lead to penalty for EW. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.