Jump to content

Barry

Members
  • Posts

    12
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Barry's Achievements

(2/13)

0

Reputation

  1. [hv=d=n&v=n&n=s1073h102d107543ck107&w=s952hak83d92cj852&e=saqj864h97654dqc3&s=skhqjdakj86caq964]399|300|[/hv] N pass E pass S 1♦ W Pass N Pass E 3♣ S Pass W pass N 3♦ E Pass S Pass W 4♣ N Pass E 4♠ S Pass W pass The 3♣ bid was Ghestem (showing both majors) and it was not alerted. 4♠ went one down. South lead the A♣ followed by another club that was trumped by E. This is when the failed alert became apparent. NS claim they have been damaged by the failure of their opponents to alert. What is the damage? However, the traveller turned up another problem. The board was played 7 times with the following results. 6♦ 5♦+1 5♦ 4♠(2) 4♠-1 3♠+2 The diamond contracts should not really make because there are three clear losers but because of the cards involved it makes on three occasions. Now should NS be awarded 5♦ making as an adjusted score?
  2. The contract was 4H by South. South plays a club. West has a minor penalty card(4D) and he does not have a club. Can West trump the club or does he have to play the minor card?
  3. My bridge club uses curtain cards. I have been trying to stop the use of these cards for some time because they cause more problems than they are worth. What is the E.B.U. position on the use of curtain cards? Are they still legal? What do you do if the cards from one hand have been mixed with another hand and the previous players cannot remember how they were arranged?
  4. Barry

    Director!

    I appreciate at big tournaments that the director needs to be called in a more formal way. but is it really necessry in smaller clubs. How often have we heard the word' Director' shatter the atmosphere. It could almost be replaced with the words 'Stop thief'. The director arrives at the table to see a timid or inexperienced player quaking in his boots saying 'I didn't mean to revoke and I have n't been well lately'. Why can't we use the first name of the director What about calling out 'Janet, Jim, Mary Raju'. It is much more friendly and less intimidating. Just an observation!
  5. Declarer plays a small card from hand. In dummy he has AQxx in that suit. LHO hesitates and then plays low. Declarer plays the Q and RHO plays the K. LHO had no reason to hesitate. If Declarer calls the Director and complains what ruling can the Director make? Is LHO allowed to deceive an opponent in this manner considering he is allowed to open 1NT (psche) with 1 point in his hand?
  6. Barry

    Law 25B

    I look at my hand and decide to bid one diamond ( I play five card majors) I then realise before my partner bids that I have an extra heart hidden behind another card. I have 5 hearts. Can I call the Director and ask to change the bid?
  7. This problem occurred at my local bridge club recently. I was not directing that evening but at the end of the session I was asked how to score a board that had been fouled. This, remember, was a teams of four event. Hence I sent the question off to your forum. I had asked how the board had become fouled. Apparently East at the previous table had misrecorded the curtain card. She had written AKQD when it should have been KQJD. The next East player announced that his curtain card did not correspond to his hand and called the Director. At the same time North announced that his curtain card was also wrong. Unfortunately he had placed the AD in with his heart suit. I know that this sounds like a rerun of the Muppet Show but that is what happened. I believe that this problem could have been resolved and that the hand could have been played at that table but it was not and everybody seemed to think that the board had been fouled. I do not know how this information would change how the board would be scored. I realise now that I should have provided this information with the original question.
  8. Please can you help us with the following problem Teams of Four. There were a total of six teams. EBU In round one team 5 was playing team 3. Team 5 were playing E/W. The West player made a mistake recording the curtain card with the result the board could not be played at the next table by teams 2 and 1. What score do we give to teams 2 and 1 and what penalty is given to team 5?
  9. Please could you look at the following claim and how should the Director rule The contract if 4S by West. West has ♠ J 9 3 ♥ A Q 7 2 North No trumps or hearts East has ♠ 8 ♥J ♦9 7 5 ♣10 4 South has ♥ 10 8 5 4 ♦ 8 7 2 West (Declarer) is on lead and claims that all spade trumps and hearts are good and lays down his cards on the table. South says he has one heart trick. Declarer can make all the tricks if he played a small heart to dummy's J then trumps a diamond. He then plays the A Q of hearts and trumps the last heart with the 8 of spades. However, if he is required to play the J of spades first before running the hearts he will then lose one heart trick. Can the Director insist on that line of play. Is it one trick to South or not?
  10. Can you please clarify the following regulations: EBU regulations 1. Can a Club inform members that they do not have to make the 'Announcements' that are listed in the Orange Book? 2. Can a Club inform members they do not have to alert? 3. Can a partnership inform the opposition that they do not want them to announce or alert during the auction?
  11. Declarer asks dummy to play the AD. Dummy plays the 8D. RHO plays the KD and Declarer and LHO follow suit with low cards. RHO then plays the AC. Declarer says he has played out of turn because he had won the trick with the AD in dummy. The Director is called. Declarer states that he called for the AD. Dummy said he thought he had asked for the 8D. One Defender can't remember but the other Defender says he thought he heard the 8D called for. Normally you would consult Law45D (Card Misplayed by Dummy). However how do you decide which card was called for?
  12. Friends of mine use reverse Benji. When one partner opens 2D reponder's replies are 2H (showing 0 to 5pts) or 2S (showing 6+pts). They have been told by opponents that their responses are illegal. They always alert these bids. Are these responses illegal? We play under EBU regulations.
×
×
  • Create New...