InTime
Full Members-
Posts
133 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by InTime
-
[hv=pc=n&s=sat952h95dt84cqt7&w=skq743h73daj7cj98&n=sj8h84d9652cak543&e=s6hakqjt62dkq3c62&d=w&v=0&b=8&a=1sp2h(*)p2np3hp4hp4sp4np5hppp]399|300[/hv] This is a Tx4 match. All the players here are advanced. The only bid that was alerted during he auction was the 2H (The bidders play 2/1 and the alert for the 2H was alerted as GF) No questions were asked when the bidding finished and South leads the ♠A, his partner dropping the ♠8. Again no questions were asked. South continue a spade and declarer makes his contract of 5♥. The TD was called and leader explains his problem as follows: He was under the impression that the 4♠ was bid as support for ♠'s while it was used as Keycard for ♥'s. Therefore he lead the ♠A. If he had known that it was actually Keycard for ♥'s, he would not have lead the ♠A in the first instance. His partner explained that dropping the ♠8 was a suit preference for switching to ♣'s and was not intended for count. What should the ruling be here? Should the score be changed to 5♥-1? Is it necessary for declarer and partner to explain their bidding from the 4-level upwards if no questions are asked by the defenders? Regards Note: I corrected the West/North hands West Jxx and North AKxxx Sry about this, but I think it does not make any difference to the questions.
-
After 1NT(partner) - 2x (natural opps) - X(you) Which is the best to play here?: Double for take-out showing a hand that is willing to compete to at least 2NT - it may be converted for penalties by the NT opener. or Double for penalties demanding partner to pass. Apparently there are different views here which one is better. I will appreciate your view here with rationale in regard to the one or the other. Regards
-
Hi, The hands posted with the topics are so small on my laptop so that I cannot view them? Am I doing something wrong . . . how can I zoom into it? Regards
-
[hv=pc=n&s=sq754h642dkj4cq82&w=sat986hakqj87d9ca&n=sh93dqt87532ckjt5&e=skj32ht5da6c97643&d=w&v=b&b=4&a=1h3ddp]399|300[/hv] Playing 2/1 in MP. The X by East just shows values. It does not promise 4 spades. What is the best way to continue the bidding to conclusion? Regards
-
[hv=pc=n&w=shak543djcaqjt962&e=skqt42hqj86dat3ck]266|100[/hv] North/South keeps quiet throughout the auction. Playing 2/1, how do you bid this hand to it's full conclusion? East opens 1♠, EW Vul. Regards
-
This is very interesting. So, what you are saying is that if a defender is unsure which card to pitch, he tables his cards and the tournament director will come and sort it out for him? Regards
-
What you are saying here is that the 1NT rebid is just a shape showing bid and it does not necessarily say that your hand has a stopper or not. If partner wants to know, he can still inquire via 2♠? Regards
-
Thanks for all the replies. Another question I want to ask . . . what does 2♦ here means after a negative double . . . does it constitutes a reverse? I have heard somewhere that you are not reversing here with 2♦after a negative double? The point is actually is 2♦ forcing or not? . . . and if 2♦ is not forcing, must you then bid 3♦ to force? Regards
-
[hv=pc=n&s=sq5hj97djt53cakq5&d=s&v=b&b=7&a=1c1sdp]133|200[/hv] I opened 1♣ here with the intention to rebid 1NT. After the 1♠ and double, what is my best rebid now? Regards
-
Declarer to play with 2 cards remaining, one winner one loser. Hand on left places 2 cards exposed on the table one a winner one loser , before declarer plays. No statement of claim or concession is made by defender. Declarer calls director and asks for ruling. Are those 2 cards major penalty cards and if so can declarer direct defender to play either one if he can not follow suit to next trick? Regards
-
Playing Multi Landy in all positions against a strong NT. So in this instance I will bid as follows: 2D (Single suiter major) and after partner's 2H then bid 3D explaining my hand. Regards
-
[hv=d=e&v=n&n=sa753ha8632d54c105&w=sqthkj1054d862caj9&e=skj982hq9dkqt97c6&s=s64h7daj3ckq87432]399|300|Scoring: MP[/hv] Thanks for all the replies with rationale behind it. Now, take this hand for an example. The Bidding: 1S - (4C) - X - (Pass) 4D* - (Pass) - 4S - All Pass * [taking the 4C as a take-out] Must one just write this hand off as a bad experience? Regards
-
What is the recommended level to which a negative double should apply in general? For example: 1♠ - (4♣) - X . . . penalties or negative etc. I will appreciate any rationale with your comment. Regards
-
Sry . . . . ignore this comment . . . . erased it.
-
I will appreciate if you can explain your bidding please. It seems to me 5♦ is exclusion blackwood here and 6♥ asks for a feature in hearts? . . . not sure. Bidding a void in partner's suit seems to be very orthodox . . . where do this apply in other bidding sequences? Regards
-
[hv=d=s&v=n&n=skj87hk5dkqj83ca5&s=saq952haqj8763dc9]133|200|Scoring: MP[/hv] How to bid this hand to its full potential? Regards
-
I was using standard count and are still trying converting and convincing myself to UDCA. The problem I have on this one is what is the correct way to give remainder count? For example: Partner leads the suit and I am sitting with Q632, my Q taken by declarer's A. At a later stage when I have to discard from this suit do I play 6 and the 2 to indicate I have 3 left, or do I play 2 and then 3 to indicate I have started with 4 cards originally? Some bridge players say you give original count (discarding the 2). . . some say you give remainder count (discarding the 6) . . . some say after the first card played in a suit you use normal count to indicate the remainder in the same suit . . . others are seemingly just unsure. The same thing here after you have given an attitude signal. My question is what is the correct way using it? I personally think that there are a lot of people playing UDCA that will ask you what does remainder count mean? Actually a tournament director said at a stage he does not know what I am talking about . . . I will appreciate rationale comments to a confused UDCA potential user. Regards
-
[hv=d=n&v=n&n=sak842hj972dqjck9&s=sq9hak654da85ca62]133|200|Scoring: IMP[/hv] We are playing 2/1. My question is how do you show a 3 or 4-card raise with the following bidding?: 1♠ - (Pass) - 2♥ - Pass ? How do you show a 3 or 4-card raise? The fact that you have a 3-card or a 4-card raise can be of great importance here. If you just bid 3♥, your partner will never know if you raised on 3 or 4. Regards
-
[hv=n=sakxhakxxdakjxxxc&s=sxxxhqtxxdqxcjxxx]133|200|[/hv] How to bid these hands in SAYC, 2/1 or Precision? Regards
-
[hv=d=w&v=b&n=sakj9hk976d72ca74&s=s63hqdaq854cqj853]133|200|Scoring: IMP[/hv] What is the best way to bid these hands East/West pass throughout and North opens a 15-17 NT? Regards
-
Sorry . . . I must rectify this . . . I actually meant bidding the suits normally with intermediate hands. That actually meant bidding spades first. Regards
-
[hv=d=s&v=b&s=skjt52hkq972dck43]133|100|Scoring: MP[/hv] We play Michaels and have decided that it is either a good or a bad hand, with intermediate hand we bid our suits normally . . . I supppose this is valid for any two-suited overcall system. However, I have seen on vugraphs that certain pairs play this as intermediate to good hands when Vul vs not . . . especially in teams. My question is:- 1. What constitutes a good, intermediate or bad hand for partnership understanding? 2. Does the Vulnerability or position like 4th position change the definition? 3. In the above hand the bidding went: (1♦) - Pass - (Pass) - 2♦ with the above hand. In what category will you put this hand according to your definition? Any rationale comments will be most welcome. Regards
-
If you've already made up your mind, there's not much point in seeking other opinions, is there? I can assure you that I appreciate all opinions and they are all welcome. However, I have also my own opinion in regards to certain approaches. In that I am not repudiating any opinions . . . if it works for the partnership then I have really nothing to say about it. All I was trying to say that I am not sure that a bid of 3♥ or 4♥ would have helped me going forward. Regards
-
[hv=d=w&v=b&n=sh96542dkq6cq8642&w=s642hkd953ckjt753&e=sj873haqjt73d42c9&s=sakqt95h8dajt87ca]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv] For interest here are the full hands. What is responder suppose to do with 3♥ or 4♥ as a splinter? IMO it can only create headaches and not help you at all. Regards
-
[hv=d=w&v=b&s=sakqt95h8dajt87ca]133|100|Scoring: IMP[/hv] Playing 2/1 and following the believers of not opening 2♣ with a two-suited hand, the bidding went as follows: West. . . North . . . East . . . South Pass . . . Pass . . . .Pass . . . 1S Pass . . . 1NT . . . . 2H . . . . . ? If East would have passed, 3♦ would be an easy 100% forcing bid. However, after the 2♥ from East, is 3♦ still regarded as 100% forcing? If not, what is a 100% forcing bid? Regards
