TMorris
Full Members-
Posts
243 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by TMorris
-
It was suggested to me that one needs a minimum point count in order to psyche? I have never heard of this & it makes no sense to me so can anyone tell me if it is the case or not? Thanks
-
Always bid here
-
When asked I am told they said any 6-9 count. It may be that with a 5-card major they do something else but anything is possible (example. I have seen one of them overcall 2C on a three count & 5 clubs to the 9). I am likely to be the person who has to explain to them what they must alert so I want to be clear on any associated issues beforehand although I will of course check exactly what their agreement is first.
-
My current limited understanding of their methods is that a major suit response could be balanced with a 4-card suit if it has 10+ points. They won't have thought through the implications but they can have an auction in theory like 1D 1S 3NT where opener has a 1354 15 count as they know partner has a 10 count. Given one of them is a very serious hand hogger he could easily have a 3244 15 count and not care about finding a spade fit if it means he won't play the hand. Unless you know the 1S is 10+ you are going to take the 3NT bid as a very different hand to the one it actually might be.
-
I would want them to alert this as well as the 1NT response for the sam sort of reason.
-
I am told that a poor pair play that a 1NT response to a 1 level bid is 6-9 but can include 1 or 2 4-card majors. It is purely a point count so they will always respond 1NT when in range (I haven't asked about them having a 5-card major). Is this alertable under the unexpected meaning rules? In addition it has been suggested that this does not need to be stated on their (rather limited) convention card. This seems wrong to me. I would welcome comments.
-
On reflection I am intruiged by the date of the OP. I played in the Oxford GP teams last year and we had those hands. I can't guarantee the small pips but the distribution was identical as were the honour cards.
-
Thanks for that - interesting figures.
-
At matchpoints you are of course trying to minimise the tricks the opponents take, not the same as trying to beat the contract. This will presumably bias the results you give from the Bird/Anthias book, in my view more towards a heart.
-
At matchpoints if a table has started bidding a board but is significantly behind the rest of the room is the director allowed to stop them playing the board at that time (and let them play it at the end time permitting)? If so which Law allows this.
-
If you open this 1 ♦ which is not unreasonable you cannot rebid 3♦ you need to "invent" a bid which would usually be 3♣ as you try not to rebid a 3 card major if at all possible. Partner can pass 3 ♦ but 3♣ is game forcing.
-
County match opening lead
TMorris replied to VixTD's topic in Intermediate and Advanced Bridge Discussion
Neither have I over a similar period bar 1 pair for a very short period -
Pass for me too. If we can make something there is a decent chance they are off. There is not an obvious fit for them so it is not clear there will be one for us in which case they are in a good position to take a large number from us as we are vulnerable.
-
I think I am as confused at the end of this thread as I was at the beginning.
-
I agree with Steven, many just don't use that sequence.
-
Thanks for the replies. I would say that at my club "weak" in the situation given is unexpected for a number of players. I doubt at club level that this is uncommon.
-
In the auction 1♣ (1♠) 3♣ Where 3♣ is a weakish raise do you alert the 3 ♣ bid? In particular does your answer change if it is bid at a club compared to at a tournement (where it is rather less unexpected one might feel).
-
Thanks - that was my view as well. This was a hesitation situation, the 3NT was bid very very slowly and the auction then went 5♣ 6♣ making for a zero the 3NT bidder had AJxx A10x Qx Qxxx and K of diamonds was onside.
-
All red at matchpoints. The bidding with opponents quiet has gone 1♦ 1♠ 2♣ 2♥(FSF but not to game) 3♣ 3NT 1♦ promised at least 4 cards You have 10x Q AJ10xx AKJxx
-
N might bid 3 ♥ to find out more about your hand.
-
The answer to this question is yes. Regarding your earlier question is that it depends on your partnership agreement. IF your partner makes a double that you have agreed is take-out over a natural suit bid below 3NT then you do not alert it. People agree that doubles of natural suit bids are penalties over a certain level. What that level is depends on your agreements. If your agreement is penalties over 2S for the sake of arguement then in the sequence 1S (P) 2H (P) 3H (x) you would alert this as penalties. In the sequence 1H (P) 1NT (x) many people play this double as take out of hearts so it should be alerted as it is not a penalty double of the no trump contract but if you play it as a penalty double of 1NT then you should not alert it. I hope that helps but if not feel free to post more.
-
Double or pass look fine to me. You don't have to bid just because you have points. You can get occasional auctions where pass is right with rather more than 15.
-
Bridge frustration
TMorris replied to eagles123's topic in General Bridge Discussion (not BBO-specific)
I once got told off for not claiming when I had the rest (I had lost concentration and didn't realise they had no more tricks to cash). The complainer told me it was against the Laws
