Jump to content

jules101

Full Members
  • Posts

    164
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Previous Fields

  • Preferred Systems
    ACOL

jules101's Achievements

(4/13)

23

Reputation

  1. It's nice that the movie shows diagramme with tricks possible. This is welcome addition. Thank you! Not so good though that it covers/overlaps with club suit in the West hand, so that all 4 hands can't be seen. Could this box be relocated a little? Please!
  2. And do they change their style if BBO tournament is set in IMPS or match points? #AskingForAFriend
  3. Not sure this is very meaningful when the auction presented here is incorrect. 3C* was an enquiry, and alerted, not NAT. And the next two bids listed in your diagramme are also incorrect! This may not make a difference to how people vote in the two polls of course, but if posting a hand where ruling was requested, and then went to AC then please ask your source to give you the correct info! Best wishes from the TD at this event.
  4. Sorry - perhaps I phrased his (mis)claim wrongly. He said he plays Q♦ felling the Jack. And then tabled his last three cards suggesting all were winners. He didn't state in which order he would play this three cards, but implied all were winners. I've edited the original post to make this more clear (I hope!). At this point the claim is contested, so he THEN states he'll play on ♦ and will lose a trump (but he has not idea which trump it is).
  5. [hv=pc=n&s=sqhdcj92&w=sthtdckt&n=sh9dqt9c&e=skj8hdjc]399|300[/hv] North is declarer in 4♥, and currently has 7 tricks. Here is the four card ending. Declarer is on lead, and says... "I'm playing Q♦ which will fell the Jack, and then just tables his last three cards T9♦ and 9♥ (implying all were winners) OK?" Not statement is made about trump (eg no statement such as "I'll just play my ♦ and you can take your winner whenever you like"), so it is clear declarer is not aware there is a trump outstanding. Neither is declarer aware that West is holding the boss trump rather than a small one. Once the claim is contested North says happy to lose a trump trick. TD is called and asked to adjudicate. Assuming West doesn't ruff Q!d, and declarer thinks all his cards are good could TD suggest that he plays 9!h next. This would lose to T!h and when a spade is returned then EW score the last three tricks. Declarer says it would be illogical for his to play the trump first as he can't be forced to play in "careless manner". But given his counting and also his claim were both careless can he also be asked to play in careless manner? Now that he is alerted to the fact that there is a trump outstanding then perhaps it would be logical for him to play 9!h in order to pull the remaining trump if he thinks it might be smaller than his? That way he would still make 11 tricks rather than ten! You - as TD - have to decide how many tricks declarer is entitled to. a) Allowing him to continue playing ♦ until West ruffs. Declarer can regain the lead and win remaining tricks. = 10 tricks. b) Assuming West doesn't ruff Q♦, and declarer is now obliged to play his trump then he loses the final three tricks. = 8 tricks. Which will it be?
  6. This is exactly how I had distinguished the two words/meanings, but Law 41B reads "Declarer or either defender may, at his first turn to play a card, require a review of the auction; this expires when he plays a card." I mistakenly thought that once the opening lead was faced that defenders (and declarer) are merely entitled to "a review" but not entitled to have every call in the auction restated. It seems from what many others are saying this "full restatement of calls" allowed up until they play their first card. After this they are entitled to "review" as you describe above. Clarification from you all is helpful to me, but I feel the wording is tangled and unclear. Is it too late for this to be "tidied up" for 2017 edition of the laws?
  7. English is my first language and yet I interpreted these two words meaning different things. Will there be more clarity/less confusion in the 2017 version?
  8. I had assumed "review" and "restatement" were different. Silly me. Wonder why on earth I thought that.
  9. LAW 41B "Review of Auction and Questions" says "Declarer or either defender may, at his first turn to play a card, require a review of the auction; this expires when he plays a card." (my emphasis) LAW 41C "Opening Lead Faced" says "Following this Clarification Period, the opening lead is faced, the play period begins irrevocably, and dummy’s hand is spread. After it is too late to have previous calls restated (see B), ............... Please could someone clarify for me the exact point the right to have auction RESTATED expires. ("Restatement" being a list all the bids made and by whom). Is this: a) once the opening lead is faced? Or b) may the the partner of the defender on lead request the RESTATING of the auction before he plays a card? (ie after the faced lead is made, and after dummy is tabled). 41B says he is entitled to a REVIEW, but does this include a RESTATEMENT, or merely a general overview of the auction? Many thanks
  10. EW were playing 15-17 NT, 5 card majors better minor, and their auction started thus.... [hv=d=e&v=n&b=2&a=1d2cdp]133|100[/hv] East now bids 2♣ (interesting that software doesn't allow this!) TD was called. South elected not to accept the 2♣ bid. What restrictions are there now on East? If East bids 3♥ or 3♠ presumably West is now silenced, and the auction ends (unless NS bid on). So may East replace his conventional 2♣ bid with a conventional 3♣ multi purpose forcing bid thus allowing West to chose the denomination of the contract?
  11. Ah thanks. I missed earlier discussion. That makes perfect sense.
  12. I was reading Law 45, and I am struggling to understand exactly what 45 C 4 (b) actually means. I've pasted all of Law 45 C below, and highlighted the phrase I'm asking about in BOLD. (I thought that "a played card" was "a played card". But I'm now puzzled!) Explanation welcome, together with a couple of examples.... Many thanks in anticipation! LAW 45 - CARD PLAYED C. Compulsory Play of Card 1. A defender’s card held so that it is possible for his partner to see its face must be played to the current trick (if the defender has already made a legal play to the current trick, see Law 45E). 2. Declarer must play a card from his hand if it is (a) held face up, touching or nearly touching the table; or (b) maintained in such a position as to indicate that it has been played. 3. A card in the dummy must be played if it has been deliberately touched by declarer except for the purpose either of arranging dummy’s cards, or of reaching a card above or below the card or cards touched. 4. (a) A card must be played if a player names or otherwise designates it as the card he proposes to play. (b) Until his partner has played a card a player may change an unintended designation if he does so without pause for thought. If an opponent has, in turn, played a card that was legal before the change in designation, that opponent may withdraw the card so played, return it to his hand, and substitute another (see Laws 47D and 16D1). 5. A penalty card, major or minor, may have to be played (see Law 50).
  13. Thank you all for your thoughts here. The hand which bid 4N is listed here - http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bidding-problem-2678/ - x AKxxx ATx QT98. I was interested to hear what others would do when 4S came round to them (but constrained answer by saying X was penalties as per EW agreement at the table). The answer is DOUBLE was favoured (and some of those passing wished to double). PASS achieved a following too. I've listed the "consequence" at the end of the other article.
  14. Partner and I play that a 2♦ opener is weak with both majors - at least 5-4 shape (never 4-4). Our convention card* says the point range is 5-9ish (with caveat that with extra shape we may have fewer values). Fourth board of our evening.... [hv=pc=n&s=sahajt3dakq8ckj98&n=sqj976h98752d7c75&d=w&v=b&b=4&a=p2d(weak%20both%20majors)]266|200[/hv] I was expecting partner to have a tad more for his bid when I plonked 6♥ on the table (which made on a misdefense). By the end of the evening (rather than the end of the hand) our oppo described my partner's opening bid as a psyche.... I'm not sure if it is or not (and it evidently wasn't fielded given oppo had chance to score a top on this board). I welcome your views....... (and I think - even before reading comments - that I will tinker with HCP/wording on our convention card). * PS Convention cards seldom used in local bridge club, but I always have available when playing with regular partners. Last night I think we were the only pair out of 13 to have convention cards available! Not that changes my question or our bidding here.
  15. Attended my first Brighton congress this year, and after oppo auctions started 1m - 1M 1N 1!C - 1!D 1N 1!H - 1!S 1N etc ... we asked many opps whether "if your partner (opener) has 4m and 4M and intends to rebid 1N then do they open the major or the minor?" (ie are they major or minor suit based). In nearly every case the oppo said EITHER that they'd never discussed this, OR "it depends..." (it depends what we feel like, it depends on the quality of the suit, and/or it depends whether there is an R in the month presumably). We were somewhat astonished that so many regular partnerships had really not discussed, but .......
×
×
  • Create New...