Jump to content

lamford

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    6,348
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    23

lamford last won the day on June 6 2023

lamford had the most liked content!

Previous Fields

  • Preferred Systems
    sayc, Acol, any 5-card major
  • Preferred Conventions/System Notes
    play anything you have a card for

lamford's Achievements

(8/13)

541

Reputation

  1. [hv=pc=n&s=sk54hakjt82dk3ck6&n=sq962h9dj9542caj5]133|200[/hv] I could have made this and think I chose the wrong line. We bid 1H-1S-2NT-3NT for better or for worse. West leads the 3C, attitude.
  2. It was teams. The winning line was to cash six rounds of hearts, and then the three top diamonds and the ace of spades. The leader had KQJTx of clubs and QJx of spades, so that works. If the spade menaces are split, it is also cold as there is a guard squeeze. And if East guards spades and diamonds that works too.
  3. [hv=pc=n&s=sa4ht3dakq6432ca7&n=skt53hakqj94dc962]133|200[/hv] You reach 7NT by South and West leads the king of clubs. How do you play?
  4. Dummy moving hearts to the left when they are not on the left in response to a request from RR to put the trumps on the left might well damage RR who clearly thinks that it is a trump contract and not spades.
  5. I presume you mean "after the initial placement and comment". I think that would be an action that he could be aware might damage RR and could lead to an adjustment.
  6. SB could not have been aware that UI had been used by the lack of a spade return. For all he knew East did not have a second spade! He correctly called the TD when he saw the whole hand. And RR was right not to call the director as there was no irregularity in that it was a no-trump contract. An irregularity would only have occurred if there were trumps and what RR thought is irrelevant.
  7. The point is that East knows RR has led against 4H, from his remark. This makes returning a spade less attractive, as RR is unlikely to be able to ruff. I think this is a clear adjustment and I am with SB on this one.
  8. I think all RR can manage is leading fourth best and has not discussed the niceties of the game.
  9. "How did you do on the last board?", asked RR who had returned just before the next hand was bid. "4H+1" replied ChCh. Flat board". [hv=pc=n&sn=SB&nn=TT&wn=RR&en=ChCh&w=s3haj93d7654c6543&n=st54ht64daqcajt87&e=saj987hq87djt98c9&d=s&v=b&b=7&a=1np3nppp]399|300[/hv] RR led his singleton spade, which was not everyone's choice as the bridgemates showed, and dummy went down. "Can you put the trumps on the left, please?" RR asked politely. "There aren't any trumps", SB South replied. "East, ChCh won with the ace of spades and SB as South dropped the king." ChCh paused for thought and looked at the NS convention card before switching to the queen of hearts. SB misguessed to play low and ChCh continued with another heart. RR cashed the ace of hearts on which all followed, but he was unsure if his remaining heart was a winner. After an age he decided to chance it and cashed the nine of hearts for one down. SB was furious. "Directooooooooooooooooooor", he bellowed. OO arrived. SB began his rant: "East took advantage of RR's clear mistaken belief that it was a trump contract - probably 4H, the contract on the previous board. This arose from RR's request to put the trumps on the left". He continued: "When East won the first trick with the ace of spades and I dropped the king, it was normal for East to continue spades, but he switched." "Law 73C1 states: When a player has available to him unauthorized information from his partner, such as from a remark, question, explanation, gesture, mannerism, undue emphasis, inflection, haste or hesitation, an unexpected alert or failure to alert, he must carefully avoid taking any advantage from that unauthorized information [see Law 16B1(a)]." He pauwed for breath. "The slimeball ChCh did not do that. Indeed he worked out the lead was probably a singleton". ChCh was quick to respond. "That remark is a breach of Best Behaviour at Bridge", he began. "And I did consider that partner might have led from Qxxx in spades, but the NS convention card did not have "possible singleton" ticked for 1NT, so I ruled that out. Also, RR would not have led the 3 from Q632. If he had Q63, SB would not have dropped the king from K2" How do you rule?
  10. Yes that line works. It needs West to have JT9 of diamonds and I think this is a form of clash squeeze. You do need to draw trumps pitching a diamond from dummy, and only then hook the club and set up the spade.
  11. Some good thoughts. Think of the English rock back Clash and you might get nearer. Diamonds are 4-3 with JT9x and if East is 3-3-3-4 with the queen of clubs or even his actual 3-4-3-3 with the queen of clubs, I think you can make, with perfect timing.
  12. [hv=pc=n&s=sj8haq987dq85ckj4&n=sak54hkjtdk32cat2]133|200[/hv] Nobody made 6H here in England's premier County Championship and about a third of the field bid it. How would you play on the JD lead?
  13. The SIM suggests that it is indeed close between 3NT and Pass. South, with something like AQJxxxx of clubs and out, plays little part, and partner's heart cards are over North. Looking at hands, 3NT played really well, and some of the time partner has something like JTx KJxxx Kxx xx, and can't find the balance, although he feigns thought to show that he might.
  14. [hv=pc=n&w=skq85h6daq953ckt3&d=s&v=n&b=15&a=3c]133|200[/hv] What do you call? The simulation suggests that one call is right.
  15. I did go off on the actual hand when East played the ace and another club. I exited a club. West played a heart and I took the diamond defence ahich lost and West played the fourth club and that was that. I agree that declarer will probably not make it but to make assurance doubly sure you need to put in the ten of clubs as cards lie.
×
×
  • Create New...