Jump to content

alokjoshi

Members
  • Posts

    6
  • Joined

  • Last visited

alokjoshi's Achievements

(1/13)

0

Reputation

  1. Thanks to all of you for your insightful replies. I can already see that mastering the laws is going to be challenging.
  2. Yes you have a point. I just came up with a hypothetical situation. Assuming that the auction proceeds like you mentioned, I still do not understand when you say that West gets his final pass back. Do you mean to say that West will now be given the option to take back the pass and make a legal call and bidding will resume normally without any rectification? Alok
  3. Thanks for the reply. However as you pointed out "Until the end of the auction period (see Law 17D) and provided that his partner has not subsequently called" but in the hypothetical case I presented the partner too had passed. Does this change your analysis? Alok
  4. Dear Forum members Please excuse me if this is not the right forum for my post and guide me elsewhere. I am studying to be a Director but the Laws are not clear and there are no detailed explanations to accompany them. My question relates to Law 21: Call based on misinformation Say N starts bidding with 2H, E requests for explanation from S and is told that it is a weak bid. The auction proceeds with Passes by E S and W. According to Law 20F5b, the declarer or dummy are required to wait till the clarification period to point out the mistaken information. So in the clarification period, N(declarer) calls the director and informs the director and other players that wrong information was given and that the 2H bid is a strong Heart bid. At this stage, does the Director have the option to cancel the bids by E, S and W and start bidding again with E? Or, is this situation 'too late to change'? Thanks in advance.
  5. Thank you sir for your clear and quick response. Greatly appreciate.
  6. Dear Forum members, I am trying to read up to become a Club Director and while reading up on Law 29 a question came to mind. I will explain my question with an example. If N opens bidding with say 1C and before E and S are able to call, W bids 1D and N bids 2C then according to Law 29A the non-offending side has forfeited the Right to Rectification. However what happens to E and S? Have they lost there opportunity to bid in the first rotation or am I missing something(some rule) that takes care of this situation? Thanks. Alok
×
×
  • Create New...