Last week, we had a combination of bidding that went; 1♥ - Pass - 2 ♦- Pass 3♣ - Pass - 5♣- Pass Pass Pass I had 14 points, 5 hearts, 4 clubs, 2 spades and 2 diamonds. I was taught that for openers re-bid 13-18 points bid new suit 19+ points jump shift (ignoring reverses etc) My only rebid (as I saw it) was clubs. I was surprised when my partner laid down dummy with 4 clubs and 11 points. Afterwards my partner said "a new minor at the 3 level is forcing to game" i.e. it is a big hand. I have searched for such a rule but cannot find one. Is a new minor at the 3 level in the above sequence a big hand? Thanks Freo