In a local club game, North is declarer in 3NT. West faces the opening lead. South faces the dummy and almost immediately East also faces her hand( She admits that she was confused as to the results of the auction and was apparently oblivious to South's action). Normal play in the hand would result in declarer going down at least two tricks. However with the cards exposed he would reasonably be able to make his game if they were all deemed to be penalty cards. The director ruled that play should cease and allowed N/S to make 3NT. (top on the board) Question: 1) Does Law 68 (B 1)govern an inadvertent exposure. i.e. Is this a case of abandoning ones hand? 2) If so, does Law 68 (B 2) allow West to object to any concession and at least win any sure winners for his side.(E/W had at least 5 winners) This situation obviously does not occur often (if ever), but I would like to get some clarification as to the correct procedure. The director had never seen it before nor had any of the players