Jump to content

freewindy

Members
  • Posts

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by freewindy

  1. In WBF Law 86D D. Result Obtained at Other Table In team play when the Director awards an adjusted score (excluding any award that ensues from application of Law 6D2), and a result has been obtained* between the same contestants at another table, the Director may assign an adjusted score in IMPs or total points (and should do so when that result appears favourable to the non-offending side). It seems that I don't need an adjust score becase there is no Non-offending side. But in Law commentary Law 86D When, in team play, a board cannot be played at the table for whatever reason, while it has already been played at the other table, it is possible to deviate from the routine artificial adjusted score. To do this we need an unusual result on the played board. The TD works with a range of normal results on a board, which do not ask for the application of this law. Given the fact that the innocent side will receive some IMPs anyway (average plus), a couple of not doubled overtricks are not considered to create an unusual result. When the innocent side received a very good score and the board is made unplayable at this table (by the other side), it is mandatory to give an assigned adjusted score with full weight to this result. Assume that the team that got a good score at one table caused the board to be cancelled at the other; if the TD gives an assigned adjusted score the weight of the good result needs to be small; 30% sounds reasonable. If the board has to be cancelled because of a mistake at the second table, and the innocent side received a very good result at the first table, it should get full weight. If the offenders received a very good score the weight can be less (50% looks reasonable). And if no side is responsible the weight could be somewhat higher (let us say 60%). It seems that I need adjust score even thouth that both are offenders.
  2. I'm Sangho Choi from South Korea. Recently I directed a Swiss team game. 19table, 8 boards/round, 7 round. 55 minutes are assigned for playing 1 round. player level is intermediate. Before tournament, I anounced that unplayed boards can not be played after 51 minutes from round start. At table 3(NS team 3, EW team 17), players finished 7th board at 52 minutes. So I said that last board(board 12) will be scored as average and did that. and deal was West Deal, NS Vul. [hv=pc=n&s=sk8hq8764djt765c5&w=saj75hakj532dkcq3&n=s9643htda84cat986&e=sqt2h9dq932ckj742]399|300[/hv] but scoring correction periond, North(team 17) said that he got a very favorable result from board 12 at their table. Actually, he got very good result(4HX-2, +300). At other tables, most of EW made 3NT or down(undoubled). Here are travellers. BOARD 12 Section Table NS EW Contract Dec Lead NS+ NS- IMPs IMPs ================================================================= A 3 17 50/50 0 0 A 6 12 3NT-2 E D3 +100 0 0 A 9 15 3NT+1 E D6 -430 -10 10 A 2 8 3NT-2 E D6 +100 11 -11 A 5 18 3NT-1 E DJ +50 0 0 A 10 13 3NT-1 E D6 +50 10 -10 A 7 16 1H+1 W H10 -110 -4 4 A 1 19 2H+1 W H10 -140 0 0 A 4 14 3NT= E D6 -400 -10 10 A 17 3 4Hx-2 W DA +300 0 0 A 12 6 4S-2 W H9 +100 0 0 A 15 9 3NT-1 E D6 +50 10 -10 A 8 2 3NT= E H8 -400 -11 11 A 18 5 4H-1 W S7 +50 0 0 A 13 10 3NT= E D6 -400 -10 10 A 16 7 3NT-1 E DJ +50 4 -4 A 19 1 2S+1 W H10 -140 0 0 A 14 4 3NT-1 E DJ +50 10 -10 ================================================================= So I think it's proper time to apply law 86D. I guess that if board was played, result would be 4H-1 by west 30%, -20+300=250, IMP+6 4S-1 by west 30%, -20+300=250, IMP+6 3NT= by East 20%, +400+300=700, IMP+12 3NT-1 by East 20%, -20+300=250, IMP+6 So I assigned +7 IMP(0.3*6+0.3*6+0.2*12+0.2*6) for team 17. However, I'm not sure that this is correct approach. Here is law commentary from WBF. Law 86D When, in team play, a board cannot be played at the table for whatever reason, while it has already been played at the other table, it is possible to deviate from the routine artificial adjusted score. To do this we need an unusual result on the played board. The TD works with a range of normal results on a board, which do not ask for the application of this law. Given the fact that the innocent side will receive some IMPs anyway (average plus), a couple of not doubled overtricks are not considered to create an unusual result. When the innocent side received a very good score and the board is made unplayable at this table (by the other side), it is mandatory to give an assigned adjusted score with full weight to this result. Assume that the team that got a good score at one table caused the board to be cancelled at the other; if the TD gives an assigned adjusted score the weight of the good result needs to be small; 30% sounds reasonable. If the board has to be cancelled because of a mistake at the second table, and the innocent side received a very good result at the first table, it should get full weight. If the offenders received a very good score the weight can be less (50% looks reasonable). And if no side is responsible the weight could be somewhat higher (let us say 60%). I judged that both pair are responsible for slow play at table 3 and so both pairs are offender. I did't understand bold phrase at law 86D commentary. Can someone tell me right approach(with some calculated IMP)? also any comment will be fine. Another question : For canceld board due to slow play, if I judged that both are faulty, Can I assign average minus for both team?
  3. I'm sangho in South Korea. Recently there is an issue related with procedure of playing dummy's card. It is usual that Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card. However, there are some persons who always pick up dummy's card by himself even through dummy is present at table. One day opponents claims that this is not correct procedure and they want declarer to name the card and dummy play the card. I think that it is not correct procedure but acceptable. but opponents want to punish declarer. I want to know procedure of playing dummy's card in other country. Is it acceptable that declarer pick up dummy's card to play in every trick even though dummy is present at table? As far as I know, It is not unusual that declarer pick up dummy's card to play trick in some countries even through dummy is present at table. and I also saw that declarer pick up dummy's card to play trick in internaltional competition and director said nothing about it. Law 45 is related with this issue. What is your interpretation of "if necessary" in Law 45B? Law 45 - Card Played B. Play of Card from Dummy Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks up the card and faces it on the table. In playing from dummy’s hand declarer may, if necessary, pick up the desired card himself.
×
×
  • Create New...