Jump to content

keithhus

Full Members
  • Posts

    102
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by keithhus

  1. Thank you for your replies. Apologies, I posted in the wrong forum. I do know negative doubles but my understanding is that it means I have no support for either suit bid, whereas I did have support for Clubs. I take the point about the singleton Q. Thanks again.
  2. Appreciate advice please. I held :- S xxx, H Qxxxx, D. Q, C Kxxx Partner opened 1C and Ops over called 1 S. I know I should bid major before minor but did not feel I had enough to bid at the 2 level. Hence I bid 3 C. Partner raised to 5C (vulnerable) and went down by 3, ouch. Comment was made that I should have shown my H. I understand the criticism but feel that I would have overstated my point count whereas support for my partner''s suit was within the "rules"- I.e. 7 points plus 3 (singleton). Your comments would be appreciated.
  3. appreciate advice please. I held A balanced hand but with only one honour. Longest (and strongest suit) was diamonds (4) headed by the king. Ops were in 3NT. D were not bid. I led the 4th D (I.e. 4th from honour). Comment was made that I should never lead from K. I know the "rule" but is it sacrosanct in all circumstances -I.e. Should I have led another suit/should I have led the K!!? Txs
  4. This is at a tangent to the question but what's the view on what I would have done viz; As N I would have bis 3S. Then as South I would have bid gerber and then bid 6S. Please bear in mind I am a beginner, trying to improve my bidding,. At present I am making too many mistakes when playing online, would this have been another? Thank you
  5. Thanks Helene and Cyberyeti. At the level I play, 4D would be taken as natural and weak and that is what I would have bid had I had that hand. It remains to be seen whether that would result in the best contract vis-a-vis the other partnership agreements! I assume not, otherwise there would be no point in these other arrangements. Thanks once again.
  6. I comment as a beginner . I cannot see any sensible bid other than 5D. However, not being interested in Kindle! purpose of my reply is to seek comments on the 1st round pass by S. I think one should better describe ones hand rather than pass. Hence, would it be acceptable to bid 4D , or do I need to go to 5D? Thank you
  7. Helene, I suppose your "preemptive " comment is the same as Akoo's re LoTT - I.e 3H would indicate less than 10pts. I am getting a little confused, as my teaching re responses to over calls was : 3 card support 8-11 Increase bid by 1 12-15. Increase bid by 2 16. Increase by 3 Hence, 3H would not be weak. What am I not understanding?
  8. As a beginner, I would bid 4H, as you might expect. But with reference to a previous topic - I.e. LoTT, would 3H be a sensible invitation? Thanks
  9. Thank you, I also wondered how to achieved this. I also would like to know how I take back a bid/card which I have noticed is requested sometimes.
  10. I would lead a S - 4th from honour. Also NT are usually strong in minors, otherwise they would play in a major. Further, in this instance they have bid H. It may not be very imaginative, but if this approach is not the best , why are we beginners taught along these lines?
  11. Interested to know what the experts would say about my thinking viz; S. 2C N. 3C S. 4NT N. 5 H S. 5NT N. 6C S. 6NT Be gentle
  12. Thank you all for your responses
  13. I should have added that had I received a H response, I would have bid 2 clubs.
  14. I agree about the H response but as that did not happen, and therefore given what I know, am I right to take out of NT even though I don ' t think I will make it or should I leave and take any consequences. It's the principle (if there is one) I'm aiming at rather than the specific. Thank you.
  15. One hand I recall as opener was:- S xx H Kx D AQJxx C. Jxxx I opened 1D; partner responded 1NT (6-9/may or may not be balanced.) I felt that I should not leave him in NT but felt it better to bid 2D rather than be left in 2 C. Went down by 2 . As it turned out, partner was balanced -I.e. S. KJx H. Qxxx D. xxx C. xxx You may say I bid incorrectly and perhaps should have passed/shown my Cs but my question is more about my thinking - I.e. Whilst I suspected I would not make 2D I did not want to leave my partner in A contract I did not think he would make.
  16. Would appreciate advice regarding whether one should ever make rescue bids (not sacrificial bids) In my recent attempts I have gone down miserably. Thank you
  17. I know this is not for me (beginner) but could you tell me why you played the Ac, whereas I would play the A on the second round of clubs - I.e. Rule of 7. ( keep it simple!) thanks
  18. Thank you for your comments, appreciated.
  19. Thank you for your reply, appreciated.
  20. stephen, thank you for taking the trouble to give me such a comprehensive reply, very helpful indeed.
  21. Thank you for your reply, appreciated.
  22. Thank you, this looks very helpful.
×
×
  • Create New...