Jump to content

APG1235

Members
  • Posts

    1
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by APG1235

  1. The following hand at a north of England club caused some discussion a few days ago. 1NT was alerted as 14-16, when 2♣ was passed round to north he asked if it should have been alerted, west (who is elderly and sometimes forgetful) replied that it was natural. Neither east or west had a system card. West 'woke up' at his next turn to bid and asked south if he could bid again, south was aware that this seemed a strange question to ask but under the assumption that 2♣ was natural said yes, the auction ended in 4♥. Neither east or west rectified any call prior to the opening lead, south asked to reserve his rights. At the end of the hand south asked west what 2♣ was intended to be, west replied it showed hearts and clubs, the director was called at this point and North said he would have passed 2♣ if he had been given the correct information. After some discussion the director said he would look at the hand at the end of the session. At the end of the session the director looked at the other results on the hand and ruled that as four other tables (out of nine) had been in 4♥ making the result would stand. North south made an appeal for a review of the ruling, the three members of the appeals committee all agreed the result should be adjusted to 2♣ by east (nobody thought to check how many tricks this would make!). Was the correct decision made in the end? Is the decision of the appeals committee final or does anyone have any other recourse? any other relevant comments? [hv=pc=n&s=s543h97d9876ckt52&w=sat86hq8632dj53c6&n=sqj97hatdakqt4c83&e=sk2hkj54d2caqj974&d=s&v=e&b=3&a=pp1n2cpp2d3cp3hp4hppp]399|300[/hv]
×
×
  • Create New...