Sjoerds
Full Members-
Posts
83 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by Sjoerds
-
There might be a violation to Law 16B. But IMO EW had a good understanding of their bidding so no evidence for UI The non alert is a violation to Law 21. Corrected too late for North to change his call. First thing for me is to find out what could have happened after 2♦ with the correct information. I would ask North what he would have done. And might even poll this situation. I guess "pass" is an alternative. But 3NT...I don't know... :blink: Will North double 3♥ again? I will ask him. And poll this one too if necessary. East will still call 3♠. Why did South call 4♦? I would ask her. All these questions and polls are to establish if this bad result is due to the non alert or due to less fortunate bidding of NS. If the latter is the case, I tend not to adjust the score.
-
Unless there are special arguments to do something different. I would rule south to win the ♦A.
-
But it is non the less important. If it really is 17-19 HCP I don't have many problems with 6NT, but you could poll. Alerting 2♣ BTW is not obliged in all countries.
-
About rudeness. The sound that comes with it might be more important. If it sounds like: "I understand your question, but I think it is best for you to look at the card. And if any question remains I am absolutely willing to answer them". or something like: Why the @#% do you think I made that damn card, use your eyes!" that makes a great difference.
-
And what is the problem with answering this first time?
-
IMO both sides are wrong, no matter when they woke up. You have to pay attention to the game. Only problem is which LAW to use -_-
-
Fair enough for me
-
The only question here is: "is it 6NT-1 or -2?" The double finish in spades still has some 25% and that is nice for an hopeless contract. :D
-
Good question..after an alert for 3♦ "pick your best major" the UI is changing places. Like to see North's hand too :D
-
You can discuss law46 but in this situation it looks simple to me - The opps called me, so something has happened - declarer had played ♣A in the last trick. - There was a pause or so between "King" and "of hearts" - the play of the ♥K is IMO not a normal play - declarer has given no reasonable explanation for his play So I rule declarer changed his mind and had the intention to play the ♣K
-
When someone claims with AJ still in he surely doesn't have a complete picture of what is going on. The TD should look for an alternative normal line of play that would be less successful. The defender surely thought his hand was good. A normal line then would be to play the King first. I would rule 2 tricks for your side.
-
It is important for a TD to avoid UI when he arrives. When North says "that there has been misinformation" and TD sees that they are still playing he must be accurate and take North from the table. Even his first statement might be UI for south. Unfortunately the TD sometimes helps to make things worse when he stays at the table and the discussion starts. :blink: Of course you have to call the TD when your information was not correct; but if you figured out that the opps haven given incorrect information it is not appropriate/allowed to tell your partner during the play. Not even when you try to use the TD for this purpose :P .
-
hmmm.... a little focus on North. :ph34r: What about this ruling? The fact that north asks for the TD looks like MI for me. Saying something like: "partner they don't have a ♦-fit; let's get them down for a number" The table result was 2♦-3. I would like to know the sequence of playing to see if -2 or -1 is LA. And thus consider a AS. All talking about unethical I would ignore for the moment and rule accordingly to my findings from above.
-
Depends of agreements I guess 2Nt is transfer for ♣/♦ and now you have a strong hand and don't know how to go on. I assume 1NT is 15-17 If so, I would bid 4♦ looking for slam in ♦After 4♥ (cue) I would aim for 6♦ or else 5♦
-
They had no agreement for this particular situation... Why would you still bid 3♥ if opps are telling you they have a fit in ♠ and LHO has ♥ too?
-
[hv=pc=n&s=st872hj9dj7cqt965&w=saj4hk652dq6cak87&n=skq65haqt84d94cj3&e=s93h73dakt8532c42&d=w&v=0&b=8&a=1n2c2dp3hp3nppp]399|300[/hv] 2♣= Multi defense long diamonds or spades and hearts 2♦= explained as transfer 3♥= fit After the lead of ♠K EW made 3NT+2 Obviously EW had agreed "systems on" but after the alert at 2♦ east tried to find a save place to land. How do you rule?
-
And check if that outcome really benefits the NOP. It will be most of the time... but it cannot hurt checking
-
Tx for the nomination. :blink: Perhaps you should read Law 21B. After a face-down opening lead the Director can give opponents the opportunity to remove the last pass en continue the bidding. Sometimes this rectification solves all problems. And even more if the presumed leader or dummy doesn't rectify the explanation, after the face-down opening lead, I will take it in account when I have to rectify afterwards.
-
In Dutch jurisdiction I think you should poll west's hand with the correct explanation. There might be players that would bid 3♦ but I agree with Rik that most players will pass. A (weighted) score then can given easily.
-
I would like to know if West corrected the meaning of 2♥ regarding law20F5b.
-
declarer hitches and defender throws away the setting tricks
Sjoerds replied to Fluffy's topic in Laws and Rulings
I am not sure about the play, but when west discards ♦K leader has 7 tricks? So when he is aware of the club holding there is only one reasonable way for 9 tricks and that is finishing the ♦K. So is there any relation between the result and the hesitation? -
Defender "stole" a card from dummy without any1 noticing
Sjoerds replied to benlessard's topic in Laws and Rulings
What might have happened? 1: THE PACK – RANK OF CARDS AND SUITS Duplicate Bridge is played with a pack of 52 cards, consisting of 13 cards in each of four suits. The suits rank downward in the order spades (♠), hearts (♥), diamonds (♦), clubs (♣). The Cards of each suit rank downward in the order Ace, King, Queen, Jack, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2. The board is cancelled. 13 F. Surplus Card Any surplus card not part of the deal is removed if found. The auction and play continue unaffected. If such a card is found to have been played to a quitted trick an adjusted score may be awarded. Find that surplus card and deal with it. 13 C. Play Completed When it is determined after play ends that a player’s hand originally contained more than 13 cards with another player holding fewer (but see Law 13F), the result must be cancelled and an adjusted score awarded (Law 86D may apply). An offending contestant is liable to a procedural penalty. Find the offender and deal with him/her. -
Partner passes 3♠ because he figured out 2NT might be a psych. Does this mean that in EBU rules this is judged as fielding?
-
The pass of 2NT doubled looks as an easy game to me ;) . On the pass of 3♠ he stated that he worked out that his partner must have psyched.
-
scenario 1. 3SAC There is no correlation between the infraction and the result. scenario 2. 50% 3SAC and 50% 3SA-1. Different information can lead to a different choice. Scenario 3. 75% 3SA-1 and 25% 3SAC. The same as scenario 2 but with a different outcome
