Jump to content

Sjoerds

Full Members
  • Posts

    83
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Netherlands
  • Interests
    TD

Sjoerds's Achievements

(3/13)

4

Reputation

  1. Sjoerds

    25B

    As far as I know a translation of the EBU regulations. The situation actually happened and at that time I was not aware of this interpretation. The screen mate had no problem with the change and bidding went on without any problems. I was wondering if this might be an issue in the next edition of the laws. But that's probably an other thread
  2. Sjoerds

    25B

    Of course it isn't allowed under the LAW 2007. But if I remember well, it was possible before this time [with all kind of restrictions for partner]. But my problem is where to find it in the Law. 25B says: A substituted call not permitted by A may be accepted by the offender’s LHO. (It is accepted if LHO calls intentionally over it.) The first call is then withdrawn, the second call stands and the auction continues. I cannot read the explanation as given by the EBU, etc. campboy gave me one argument:
  3. I polled what to start after this sequence without of course the UI 2x ♠x 1x ♦x 1x ♥K I must say I was a bit surprised, but most argued that starting a ♥ would bring you only 1 trick and if you wait you get two. I didn't change the score
  4. Sjoerds

    25B

    An easy question... or... Toplevel & screens [hv=d=n&v=0&b=1&a=1hp2n]133|100[/hv] After 2NT South called for me. Beside the table he told me: "I made a wrong bid. 2NT is gameforcing but I thought it was limit raise. We changed that recently. Can I change my bid?"
  5. :rolleyes: The pause before pass was no discussion. Yep: North told me "I know south must have about 10 HP. If I start with ♥K I will get only one trick unless partner has something nice in ♥. I rather try to reach partner in an other suit"
  6. [hv=pc=n&s=sakq865ht6d8ck975&w=sj9haj82dk2caqj86&n=st432hkq95dt94ct3&e=s7h743daqj7653c42&d=w&v=e&b=16&a=1np3np(...)pp]399|300[/hv] Teams, medium level. South took some time before the pass. North started with a small ♠ and EW went 2 down. After the play EW called for me. "The normal start would be ♥K an due to the thinking of South N started with spades" Your ruling?
  7. That is exactly my point. Everything is this bidding tells me that there has been UI from E to W en visa versa. The alert on 3♥ .... was info for west that his bid wasn't understand The non-alert on 3♠... was info for east that something might go wrong But did they use that UI? is 4NT a try to stop in 4NT because west didn't bid 4♣? aren't 4♣ blackwood, 4♦ (cue)or even 4♠ LA's for west? isn't 5NT a two way bid. "If something is wrong partner, you can pass or else bid your slam" And isn't 5♠ "4 Aces" a LA for east? Perhaps they would have stumbled into 6♥ and made that contract....but this sequence smells and I am looking for a way to handle this. I have sympathy for NS claiming a spade contract. 3 is ridiculous of course and after 4♣ this pair would bid 4NT. Is 5♠ a LA now? And after 5♠ as the LA on 4NT isn't "pass" a LA? And why wouldn't east continue to 6♠ or 6NT when one of these LA's is chosen? And there is more to think about. There was MI over the ♠ holding and when south leads with a small spade 6NT goes down! Or do we leave the score on this board and have a word with EW?
  8. 1 pair EW 6NT - 1 1 pair EW 5NT +1 (this pair) 2 pair EW 3NT C and +1 2 pair EW 4♥ +1 and +2 2 pair NS 4♠X -4 and -5 hmmm B-)
  9. I asked: "Wanted to reach 6♥" Why don't you answer 4NT conform your system 5♣ (0-4)?: "thought 5NT was best" Why didn't partner partner bid 4♣?: "I don't know" Is there a difference between 4♣ and 4NT?: "I don't know"
  10. [hv=pc=n&s=sqj9832h84dj943c8&w=s76hkq765d5ct9652&n=sk5ht92dq862cq743&e=sat4haj3dakt7cakj&d=n&v=e&b=9&a=p2d(Strongest%20bid)p2h(relay)p2n(23-25%20HP)p3h(tranfer%20for%20%u2660)p3s(no%20alert)p4n(Blackwood)p5n(Doesn%27t%20exist%20in%20their%20system)ppp]399|300[/hv] Normal club competition. Medium level. 2♦= strongest bid 2♥= relay 2 NT= 23-25 HP 3♥= alerted and explained as spades 4 NT= after the bidding explained as Blackwood 5 NT= No idea West was not sure if they play Jacoby in this situation and intended to show the hearts. 3 ♠was not alerted and after some thinking West bid 4NT. EW play 4♣ and 4NT as Blackwood Before his last pass, North asks the meaning of 4NT (Blackwood) and 5NT ("no idea"). After the play East asked his partner "why do you pass" we have to be in 6♥ Result 5NT+1 NS claim that a pass on 3♠ is a LA. Your ruling?
  11. Does that mean that you can do what you like with hands like this one? I think a player might know the "young and enthusiastic" nature of partner and will most likely do the right thing. Some say "if it happens for the first time it is okay" but that nature exists longer...
  12. Actually in the Dutch magazine EW dbl 2♠ and 4♠. So in that case there is imo no SEWoG for EW But I would like to discuss that this "psych" is not protected by the system. 2♠ can only be a weak hand and even if partner is strong and asks with 2SA for the minor or strength it is obvious that he will pass after 3♠ or even 4♠.
×
×
  • Create New...