Jump to content

DuaneC

Members
  • Posts

    7
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by DuaneC

  1. [hv=pc=n&s=sq3hkt8dkqj86c986&w=sj75h65dat9752c74&n=sa862hq4d4cakqj32&e=skt94haj9732d3ct5&d=e&v=0&b=14&a=pp3dppdppp]399|300[/hv] This happened in an online ACBL Club Game. None of the NS bids were alerted. Result was down 3 doubled, a not so good result for E/W. After the hand E/W summoned the director to take a look at the E/W bidding, for a possible adjustment. Do you adjust? Duane C
  2. [hv=pc=n&s=shd7cj64&w=shd9caq5&n=sahdckt9&e=s9hdjc73]399|300|Spades are trump, North is Declarer, and has the lead.[/hv] In the 4 card ending in diagram, North, declarer, leads the King of Clubs. East ruffs! Dummy and West follow low. Then East discovers he has a club, and corrects his play to the 3 of clubs. Dummy still follows low, and now can West retract his Club 5 and take the trick with the Ace? Also, If West can win the club Ace (or if he can not, pretend the layout was different, and dummy changes his play, so that now West can and does change his card so that he wins the trick), now West is on lead with the retracted 5 of clubs as a penalty card, and his partner has the 9 of spades as a penalty card. In this situation, should Declarer request a spade lead, is West technically complying with a lead restriction by leading something other than the 5 of Clubs, or must he lead the Club 5 since he can not comply with any lead restriction regarding the spade suit? Thanks, Duane Christensen
  3. [hv=pc=n&s=st32h9djct97&w=shdt865cqj52&n=skq9765h3dc4&e=saj8hdcak863]399|300|Contract 5D W. West to play and NS already have taken 2 tricks[/hv] ACBL Club Game. Diamonds are trump and West (Declarer) plays the D10. North plays a spade, dummy plays a spade, and South revokes by playing a spade. West then declares the rest with good trumps and 4 Clubs. North naturally concedes and lays down his hand face up, but South naturally contests the claim pointing out she has a trump. When one defender concedes, and the other contests a claim, how is Law 63A3 applied? Is it if one defender concedes, the revoke is established regardless of what the other defender does? Is it decided by who is first to speak, or who would be first to play? Also, suppose only South spoke to contest the claim. To avoid establishing the revoke, does South have to say that in addition to contesting the claim, she needs to correct the revoke to previous trick? If South only contests the claim, can North avoid establishing the revoke by saying that South has to correct her play to previous trick? If Declarer or Dummy mentions the revoke before Director has adjudicated the claim, does that establish the revoke, or allow the defense to correct? I assume that if Declarer or Dummy waits until after the claim is adjudicated, then the revoke is established, and they can ask Director to apply the penalty for revoke.
  4. East asked South after checking his card and seeing it blank. South said natural, 2NT opening strength. East then looked at North's convention card, and seeing "2 Lower Unbid", asked North, "I see your card shows 2 Lower Unbid, is that right?" North said yes. Hand was played out, and director not summoned until after the hand completed.
  5. [hv=pc=n&s=sk762hk76d863cjt9&w=sa843hqj52dkjck42&n=sjthadaqt54cq8765&e=sq95ht9843d972ca3&d=e&v=n&b=2&a=pp1c2np3nppp]399|300[/hv] Before leading, East asks south the meaning of 2NT, and South says "natural, 2NT opening strength." East looks at North convention card, and sees two lower unbid, and asks if that is correct. North answers yes. South convention card is unmarked. East leads club, and 3NT makes 4. Adjust, or not? Does answer depend on what was North was thinking when he called 2NT? And if he thought minors, how and when he became aware or remembered his card was marked two lower unbid?
  6. It is rule 8.01(f). The pitcher has to declare to umpire in chief, base runners, and batter what hand he intends to pitch with, usually by wearing fielder's glove on the other hand. Once pitcher has done that he can not change hands during the current at bat.
  7. [hv=pc=n&s=st8ha8752daqt83c3&w=sq96hk9d9cqj96542&n=sak7542htdkj52cat&e=sj3hqj643d764ck87]399|300|Contract is 6D North[/hv] Contract is 6D North, ACBL club game. After 9 tricks consisting of 3 rounds of trump, ruffing out the club loser, ruffing the spade suit good, and cashing the Heart Ace, declarer is in dummy in this position (NS cards 100% sure, EW close, guessing HQ lead): [hv=pc=n&s=sh8752dc&w=shkdcqj8&n=s754hd5c&e=shj64dck]399|300[/hv] At this point, Declarer leads a heart from dummy, but carelessly plays a spade loser to the trick, and then declares the rest. He had turned the previous trick as if he had won it, and assumed he was in his hand. At this point, director (me) was called to table, and ruled 12 tricks for declarer. It seemed to me that establishing that declarer had lost the previous trick, and that West was on lead, would inevitably "wake up" declarer, and he would not pitch another spade winner on West's Club lead. Having ruled this way I forgot whether declarer's statement was "good spades and a trump," or "a trump and good spades." So, is the ruling correct, and if not, does the exact wording of the claim affect the outcome? Thanks in advance, Duane Christensen
×
×
  • Create New...