ddrankin
Members-
Posts
44 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by ddrankin
-
More than a risk. See law 66D: 66D After the Conclusion of Play After play ceases, the played and unplayed cards may be inspected to settle a claim of a revoke, or of the number of tricks won or lost; but no player should handle cards other than his own. If the Director can no longer ascertain the facts after such a claim has been made, and only one side has mixed its cards, the Director shall rule in favor of the other side.
-
I don't give slpit scores in that case. I was merely pointing out, in response to a question by Ed, that it can be done. The circumstance I mentioned is the only time I use "NP", so I have no idea why someone would want to give a split score, with one being "NP". I have no idea why some people enter "NP" in most cases where I have seen it used.
-
It can. As to why or how it happens, well, I have never used No Play other than in a novice 3-table Howell, when I curtail the movement to 23 boards by not playing boards 24 and 25 in the last round. I was merely pointing out how it can be done.
-
If you enter "S" (for special) in the score field, ACBLScore will then allow a score entry for N/S, and a different score entry for E/W.
-
North.
-
Botched Swiss Teams, how should it be handled?
ddrankin replied to TylerE's topic in Laws and Rulings
The ACBL has, in its conditions of contest for Swiss events, the following: "CORRECTION AND APPEAL PERIODS PLAYER ERRORS: No increase in score needs be granted unless the TD's attention is called to the error prior to the announced starting time of the next match or 30 minutes after the completion of the match, whichever is earlier." Since this was a STaC, I think this should be enforced, which would give both teams 0 VP's for the match in question. The losing team is adjusted to 0, and the winning team is not adjusted. -
I agree with adjusting to 4♥ but I can't see a line that the defense can give up the overtrick, other than cashing two club tricks early, which seems quite unlikely, if not totally improbable. Can someone enlighten me?
-
When I started directing in the ACBL many years ago, I was told that a 1 NT opening was natural if it had no singleton or void, and no more than one or two doubletons (as per the current alert chart). Opening 1 NT by agreement with any other distribution made it a conventional call, and that convention was not approved for use in ACBL-sanctioned events unless it was forcing. Conventions that are designed to uncover a singleton or void are not illegal, but will likely be taken as evidence that the pair has the agreement to open 1 NT with an unbalanced hand. There is no automatic penalty. It is simply treated as using a convention that is not approved for the event. Frequent openings on unbalanced hands may also be taken as evidence of having the agreement, depending on frequency and the actual hands opened. In upper level events such as the USBC trials, the players likely did not call the director, presumably because they agreed that opening 1 NT with a singleton was the best way to begin to describe the hand, and did not imply the agreement existed.
-
I used to say the same thing, until a player pointed out to me that the ACBL alert procedures make no mention of delayed announcements. So if he alerted the call, it was improper, but if it was announced, then probably not. Still UI though, but in this case, I agree that the result stands.
-
Assuming shuffle and deal was in effect, Law 6B has been violated. (Of course, so has Law 7B2.) Law 6D1 states that any illegally dealt board is a fouled board, which doesn't seem to help here. Law 6D3 says "Subject to Law 22A, there must be a new shuffle and a redeal when required by the Director for any reason compatible with the Laws (but see Law 86C). Neither 22A nor 86C apply here, so I always have the players redeal, since it seems compatible with the laws. I don't worry about 7B2, because no apparent damage has been incurred by a contestant. I would really like to know what the reference to a fouled board is supposed to mean, though.
-
No. By the laws. It is an election made by the ACBL and forms part of the law.
-
But they are not exempt. They are required by the laws not to vary their system. But we are talking about a pair that has not documented their system, which may be SAYC or close to it. If they had copied the SAYC onto a regular convention card, and presented them to the TD, he has no option but to allow it. I don't think they are changing systems, since they had no documentation of one before. Once they have documented their system, whatever it is, it would be petty not to allow it, unless the TD is prepared to prove it is not their system. Good luck with that.
-
I would think that when the TD hands you a SAYC card and tells you to play it, you have his permission to play it. I would not then bar a pair from deciding to play it for the rest of the session if that is what they choose to do.
-
Not in the ACBL, unless the director allows it (and I would not). One of the elections made by the ACBL is: "4. Law 40B2(a): Both members of a partnership must employ the same system that appears on the convention card. a. During a session of play, a system may not be varied, except with permission of the tournament Director. (A Director might allow a pair to change a convention but would not allow a pair to change its basic system.)" Once they choose to use the SAYC, they are stuck with it, IMO.
-
I will pose this as well to the ACBLLC members when I see them in Phoenix.
-
Indeed it was a typo. I was on my second glass of wine.
-
At a tournament last week, I was called to the table at the conclusion of play, and told by declarer that his RHO has revoked on the third trick. His LHO then said that declarer had revoked at trick 12. Declarer had won the opening lead and played two rounds of trump, in a 5-4 fit. He thought everyone followed to the two rounds, but his RHO had discarded while holding a trump. Later in the play, he played a trump to the board, and was surprised to see RHO follow. But he played on to the last two tricks. Holding the last trump and a high heart in his hand, he led a heart from the board and trumped it. Then he faced his high heart. Now Law 62D says that a revoke at trick 12, even if established, must be corrected if discovered before all four hands have been returned to the board. Law 64B6 & 7 state that there is no rectification if (6) it is a revoke at trick 12 or (7) when both sides have revoked on the same trick. I ruled no rectification based on 64B7 (and that 64C did not change the result because the result was the same as that would have resulted if neither side had revoked since neither revoke resulted in an advantage.) But I am wondering if the specific reference to trick 12 revokes in 62D is applied first, and that the provisions of 64B7 do not apply. I would appreciate any opinions and the reasoning behind them. I do intend to ask a few members of the Laws Commission in Phoenix next month, as well.
-
Unfortunately, this may not be possible. The director at I/N tournaments does not have to be an ACBL TD. It can be any experienced club TD, which essentially means that the tournament is run as like a club game that pays silver points. That doesn't mean that he or she can't be fired, but it may simply lead to switching to yet another club TD with the same results. And I believe district supervisors are called field supervisors now.
-
Or 20 less the average of the other team in its other matches, if that is better. From the ACBL conditions of contest for Swiss teams: "TARDINESS . . 2. If four players are not seated when one-third of the time allotted for the match has expired, that team shall forfeit the match. At any method of scoring, the teams are assigned a result as though the non-offending team had won by 3 IMPs and the loser is assigned 0. At victory point scoring, the total of the non-offending team is adjusted at the conclusion of the event (or of a two session qualifying stage) such that it receives the highest of: a) the temporary assignment; b) the average per match of the victory points they accumulated in the matches actually played in that period; or, c) the average per match of the victory points scored against the offending team in the matches actually played in that period (fractions of VPs are rounded to the nearest tenth)."
-
I agree that this is not clear from the alert chart but a careful reading of the alert procedures lists this example: "EXAMPLE: 1H-P-4H when playing a forcing club where the 4H call may have, by agreement, values for game but not slam." Nobody says the ACBL makes it easy to understand the regs.
-
What about 64(B)7?
-
The laws don't say the stop card should be used - only that the RA may require mandatory pauses (law 73A2). The ACBl requires a pause, but not the use of the stop card.
-
Sorry - I was hooked on the OP.
-
Use of the stop card is not mandatory in the ACBL, so it would be extremely rare to give a PP for non-use.
-
The auction given is a jump to the three level, so the Acbl still requires an alert.
